Real value in €3.3m Galway community centre investments, says Cannon

Local Fine Gael TD Ciaran Cannon has welcomed a funding allocation of €3.3m for the refurbishment of community centres across Co Galway. The funding has been allocated by Rural Development Minister Heather Humphreys and will benefit 21 community groups in the city and county.

Welcoming the funding, Deputy Cannon said that the Government sees real value in investing in community centres and the people that use them.

“This to me has been the most important funding scheme introduced by Minister Heather Humphreys during her time as Minister for Rural Development and it is the first time we have had access to such a scheme.

“Despite the best efforts of community groups, many of our community centres have fallen into disrepair and this scheme was introduced to support those community groups in repairing the fabric of our community centres and also making them more energy efficient.

“Our government sees real value in making these investment. We support those communities who are willing to work in partnership with us and the funds invested are always used very effectively, leveraging local effort and delivering really incredible results,” said Deputy Cannon.

“All of us who are politicians spend many hours meeting community groups, more often than not in their local community centre and we see at first hand the importance of these shared spaces where people gather to support each other, to work, to socialise, to make music and dance, all of which are vital parts of community building.

Today we see 21 centres across the city and county getting an injection of funds so that all of this valuable work can continue. That’s why this investment is absolutely vital. I’m deeply grateful to Minister Heather Humphreys for establishing this scheme and I would encourage many more community groups to make funding applications in next year’s round of grants” concluded Deputy Cannon.

The Galway community centres:

Abbeyknockmoy Parish Society €300,000; Cortoon/Lavally Community Development Co. Ltd €300,000; Comharchumann Shailearna Teo €300,000; Western Traveller & Intercultural Development Co. €300,000; Comharchumann Mhic Dara Teo €294,362; Loughnane & Quinn Memorial Hall, Labane €286,803; Eyrecourt & District Community Development Co. €282,728; Ballinasloe Town Hall Co. €251,919; Kinvara Community Council €219,757; Clonberne Community Centre €100,000; Ballymoe Development Co. €97,289; Claddaghduff Hall Co. €94,618; Connemara West Public Ltd Co. €93,756; Inisbofin Development Co. €92,125; Fr. Sammon Community Centre €89,212; Ballinasloe Social Services €83,387; Lackagh Museum & Community Development Ass. €38,698; Simon Community Galway €35,530; Ballybane Community Centre €25,000; Killimordaly Community Centre €25,000; and Portumna Town & Community Hall €25,000


Page generated in 0.4109 seconds.