Walsh and McDaid nominated for Footballer of the Year

Shane Walsh, player of the Month for July/August, has been nominated for the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year.

Shane Walsh, player of the Month for July/August, has been nominated for the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year.

Two Galway footballers have been shortlisted for the Footballer of the Year in the PwC All-Stars football nominations for 2022.

Galway sharpshooter Shane Walsh and the Tribes' midfield star Cillian McDaid have both been nominated for the overall award alongside Kerry powerhouse David Clifford, while Galway's Jack Glynn is one of three in line to win the Young Footballer of the Year.

The Tribesmen are among the eight Galway footballers to be nominated for this year's All-Stars, with champions Kerry, as expected, dominating the list of 45 names with 12 places.

Among the list of 18 nominated defenders is the Galway trio of Liam Silke, Sean Kelly and John Daly, while at midfield, Galway's Paul Conroy and Cillian McDaid are two of the six nominees.

In the list of 18 forwards Galway's Shane Walsh, Damian Comer and Robert Finnerty are among the list of 18 forwards nominated Galway and Armagh with Dublin and Derry landing two slots each and Ben McCormack (Kildare ), Eoin Cleary (Clare ), Stephen Sherlock (Cork ) and Jack McCarron (Monaghan ) all recognised for their individual brilliance this summer.

The full breakdown is Kerry 12, Galway eight, Derry seven, Dublin six, Armagh five, Cork two and one each for Clare, Kildare, Limerick, Mayo and Monaghan.

Dating back to 1971, the All-Stars are selected by a team of GAA journalists from across print, radio, digital, tv and broadcast media. A separate Tailteann Cup team of the year will also be honoured this year.The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, October 28.

PwC All-Stars Football Nominations 2022

Goalkeepers: Ethan Rafferty (Armagh ); Shane Ryan (Kerry ); Evan Comerford (Dublin ).

Defenders: Jason Foley (Kerry ); Tadhg Morley (Kerry; )Brian Ó Beaglaoich (Kerry ); Graham O’Sullivan (Kerry ); Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry ); Gavin White (Kerry ); Liam Silke (Galway ); Seán Kelly (Galway ); John Daly (Galway ); Chrissy McKaigue (Derry ); Conor McCluskey (Derry ); Brendan Rogers (Derry ); James McCarthy (Dublin ); Lee Gannon (Dublin ); Lee Keegan (Mayo ); Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh ); Seán Powter (Cork ); Cian Sheehan (Limerick ).

Midfielders: Paul Conroy (Galway ); Cillian McDaid (Galway ); Conor Glass (Derry ); Gareth McKinless (Derry ); Brian Fenton (Dublin ); Jack Barry (Kerry ).

Forwards: David Clifford (Kerry ) Seán O’Shea (Kerry ) Paudie Clifford (Kerry ) Stephen O’Brien (Kerry ) Shane Walsh (Galway ); Damian Comer (Galway ); Robert Finnerty (Galway ); Rian O’Neill (Armagh ); Stefan Campbell (Armagh ); Rory Grugan (Armagh ); Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin ); Con O’Callaghan (Dublin ); Shane McGuigan (Derry ); Ethan Doherty (Derry ); Ben McCormack (Kildare ); Eoin Cleary (Clare ); Stephen Sherlock (Cork ); Jack McCarron (Monaghan ).

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominee: David Clifford (Kerry ); Cillian McDaid (Galway ); Shane Walsh (Galway ).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees: Lee Gannon (Dublin ); Ethan Doherty (Derry ); Jack Glynn (Galway ).


Page generated in 0.1029 seconds.