Galway seven nominated for All Stars

Seven Galway players have been nominated for the PwC Hurling All Stars this year, while champions Limerick, as expected, leads the list with 14 nominations.

Galway's seven are Joe Canning (Porrtumna ), Conor Whelan (Kinvara ), Daithi Burke (Turloughmore ), Brian Concannon (Killimordaly ), Aidan Harte (Gort ), and Padraic and Cathal Mannion (Ahasgragh/Fohenagh ).

Limerick's defensive line, goalkeeper Nickie Quaid and Seán Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash, Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, and Kyle Hayes are included.

Eight counties represented in all. Munster and All-Ireland finalists Waterford strongly featured with 10 players shortlisted, with five from Kilkenny, two from Cork and two from Tipperary.

Tony Kelly is nominated in midfield and one of four Clare hurlers selected, while Dublin forward Donal Burke is named in recognition of his prolific finishing in the championship.

The shortlist for the PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year Awards include Limerick wing forward Gearóid Hegarty (Naomh Padraig ), Clare's Tony Kelly (Ballyea ), and Waterford's Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart ).

The PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year Award nominees are Kilkenny’s Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks ), Waterford’s Iarlaith Daly (Lismore ) and Tipperary’s Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg ).

Uachtarán CLG, John Horan, said sport was one of the few unforgettable elements to an otherwise forgettable 2020 and yet again the hurling campaign was a highlight.

"The PwC All-Stars provide an opportunity to salute the stand-out performers who lit up the campaign and gave so much excitement," he said.

Paul Flynn, chief executive of the GPA, said the 2020 season was one like no other and their efforts on the pitch meant so much to so many.

It has also been confirmed there will be two additional hurling selections – a team of the year for the players in the Joe McDonagh Cup, as well as a Champion 15 that comprises star players from across the Christy Ring, Nickey Rackard and Lory Meagher Cups. Details of these teams will be announced next month.

It is planned to hold the presentation of the PwC All-Star awards late next month in a TV show that will be in line with Covid-19 restrictions and will be confirmed in due course.

The full list of PwC All-Stars Hurling nominations 2020 is: Goalkeepers: Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford ), Nickie Quaid (Limerick ), Eibhear Quilligan (Clare ).

Defenders: Seán Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash, Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes (all Limerick ), Conor Prunty, Shane McNulty, Calum Lyons, Tadhg De Burcá (all Waterford ), Daithí Burke, Aidan Harte, Pádraic Mannion (all Galway ), Conor Delaney, Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny ), Rory Hayes (Clare ), Mark Coleman (Cork ), Ronan Maher (Tipperary ).

Midfielders: Will O’Donoghue (Limerick ), Cian Lynch (Limerick ), Jamie Barron (Waterford ), Tony Kelly (Clare ), Michael Breen (Tipperary ), Conor Browne (Kilkenny ).

Forwards: Gearóid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy (all Limerick ), Stephen Bennett, Dessie Hutchinson, Austin Gleeson, Jack Fagan (all Waterford ), Brian Concannon, Joe Canning, Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion (all Galway ), TJ Reid, John Donnelly (Kilkenny ), Donal Burke (Dublin ), Cathal Malone (Clare ), Shane Kingston (Cork ).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year nominees: Jake Morris (Tipperary ), Eoin Cody (Kilkenny ), Iarlaith Daly (Waterford ). PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year nominees: Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick ), Tony Kelly (Clare ), Stephen Bennett (Waterford ).

Connacht football

The Connacht Minor and U20 Football Championships will begin this year on first weekend in April.

Galway minors will head straight into the semi-final against Mayo or Roscommon on April 9, while Galway U20s begin the defence of their Connacht and All Ireland titles on April 10 will face Mayo in their semi-final. The final will be held on April 16/17.


Page generated in 0.2218 seconds.