Canney welcomes new broadband connection points for the county

Twenty new broadband connection points are to be made available across County Galway, during the roll out of the National Broadband Plan, and all are expected to be on stream by the end of 2020.

The connections points in east Galway are at Cahergal National School, Cortoon Community Centre and Brownsgrove National School, Tuam; Ballinakill National School and Leitrim Community Centre, Kylebrack; St Colman’s National School, Tierneevin, Gort; St Mary’s National School, Kippanagh, Clonberne; The Old Secondary School, Glenamaddy; Kilcroan National School, Williamstown; Briarhill National School, Ballintemple; and Tiernascragh National School, Ballycrissane, Ballinasloe.

Connection points in Connemara are at Lettermullan Community Centre; Mweenish National School; Recess Post Office, and St Joseph’s National School, Barna. Connection points on the islands are located in Scoil Caoimháin, Inis Oirr; Comhar na nOileán, Inis Oirr; Inishbofin Community Centre; Coláiste Naomh Eoin, Inis Meáin; and Kilronan Library, Inis Mór.

These areas have been specifically selected by local authorities and their broadband officers to provide public Wifi and other facilities in advance of the main deployment of the National Broadband Plan. The BCPs are not a substitute for fibre to the home, but they will complement the NBP roll out.

The new BCPs have been welcomed by the Galway East TD and Minister for Rural Affairs Seán Canney, who says they will “provide vital hubs around the county for blackspot areas” and that they will “transform Rural Ireland, opening up tremendous opportunities for economic growth, investment, and jobs, as well as improving so many aspects of our personal lives, such as security, health and education”.


Page generated in 0.2156 seconds.