Wegians outgunned by Sligo

Galwegians were outgunned by a stronger Sligo side in Saturday's Connacht Senior Cup semi-final encounter, losing 16-31 at Crowley Park.

Played under lights, Wegians opened with an early fifth minute penalty from fullback Ewan Strang, but from the restart, and a strong break by centre and ex-Wegian Mark Butler created space for winger Philip Carter to saunter under the posts for the opening try, Euan Brown landing the conversion to put the visitors 7-3 ahead.

Wegians, although missing some kehy players, won a succession of penalties before Strang then narrowed the gap to a point near the half-hour mark. However the visitors were a constant threat, and the pressure told when Sligo produced a sweeping with some deft handling that saw Carter cross near the corner to bag his second try, with Brown’s adding the extras for 14-6 lead.

Strang struck a third penalty to leave the gap 14-9 at the break, and the home side upped their performance at the start of the second - hooker Andrew Paton and skipper Tarmey combining to almost score in the corner. But that momentum was halted when Sligo struck another telling blow with a well-worked blindside move which saw scrum-half Ryan Feehily chip ahead with Kiwi winger Cal Goddard gathering and crossing for a well-taken try, which Brown converted.

The Blues were rewarded when free-scoring Mikey O’Donnell bagged his seventh try of the season, and Strang’s conversion brought it back to 21-16, with the game now set up for tense finale. However all the hard work was undone almost immediately when Wegians knocked on the restart, giving Sligo the perfect platform to attack. They took full advantage with Butler getting over under the posts. Brown converted again, and a few minutes later he tagged on a penalty to put it beyond any doubt.

Sligo now meet Corinthians in the Senior Cup final in December.

Galwegians: Ewan Strang, Sandile Sibande, Sean O’Sullivan, James Kennedy,Ross Maxwell, Dylan Hamill, Eamonn Dowling, Shane Ryan, Andrew Paton, Conor Kyne, Eoin Tarmey (c ), Matt Towey, Ronan Moore, Paul Hackett, Michael O’Donnell. Subs, Ryan Lomas, Christy Reilly, Oisin Foden, Stephen Browne, Mohi Parata.


Page generated in 0.1439 seconds.