Runners ready for Connemara 10k

One of Ireland's most scenic athletic events, the 10k Rás Conamara, takes place on Saturday at 3pm.

Starting in Carna village, the race crosses the islands of Roisín an Chaladh and Muig before reaching the turnaround point at Muighnis graveyard and heading back to Carna. The coastal run is flat and fast.

Organised by the Connemara Athletic Club, the event will be chip-timed, while refreshments will be provided afterwards in Carna Bay Hotel.

The Rás 10k Conamara is open to runners, joggers and walkers. There will also be a number of fun runs for children.

Online registration is available at, and will close on Friday. It will be possible to register on the day for €20. Race pack collection will be available at Carna Bay Hotel in Carna on race day from 1pm.

Galway Cross Country championships

Almost 400 athletes competed in the juvenile uneven age races from U9 through to U19, and the senior men's and women's races on day one of the 2019 County Galway cross country competition in the Palace Grounds in Tuam.

In the U9 800m events, Sally Fahy of South Galway AC and Ryan Scully of Clare River Harriers won gold medals, while Alan Hallinan of Craughwell AC led the field to win gold in the U11 ace over 1500m, with Isla Day of Clare River Harriers taking the girls' gold medal with a commanding run.

Myah Gallagher of Tuam AC stormed home to victory on home turf in the U13 event, while Enda Keane of East Galway just pipped Oisin Maher of GCH in the 2500m race. At U15 level, Mathys Bocquet of Craughwell AC and Siobhan Geaney of South Galway AC were the winners, whle Craughwell also had success in the U17 events, which were won by Oisin Davis and Emily Miskella. William Fitzgerald of Craughwell AC was a hugely impressive winner at U19 level ahead of clubmate Patrick Noonan

Running from the front all the way, Kathryn Casserly of GCH powered to victory in the combined women’s 4000m race to take a well-deserved victory ahead of clubmate Jane Ann Meehan of GCH and third placed Aine O Farrell of Athenry. GCH took the women's team gold.

John Moroney of Galway City Harriers produced a most impressive performance to take the county senior title over an 8km distance, with a strong run from halfway, followed by Mark Davis of GCH and Paul Joyce of Craughwell, who is returning to top form and placed third for bronze. Craughwell AC won the Galway team title with Davis, Joyce, Gavin Cooney and Kevin Mooney combining to win the team prize.

Day two of the 2019 County Galway cross country competition takes place on Sunday October 20 in Bushfield, Loughrea AC’s grounds outside Bullaun starting at 1 pm. The county adult intermediate championships will also take place.

Primary schools' cross country finals

The Galway primary schools' cross country finals were held in Renmore with some 500 students having qualified from the semi-finals.

Race winners were Grace McGrath (Ballinderry NS ), Stephen Joyce (Scoil Iosaif Naofa Oranmore ), Myah Gallagher (Gaelscoil Iarfhlatha ), and Enda Keane (Kilkerrin ).

The Connacht finals will take place next Saturday in Moyne College, Co Longford at 12 noon, while the Connacht Senior League day one also takes place at 1pm at the Longford venue, with women racing 4km, and men 8km

Galway Bay Races

Some 3,000 runners took to the streets of Salthill on Saturday, competing in the three Run Galway Bay races.

Kilkenny City Harriers athlete Eoin Everard won the 10k in a fast time of 31.48, well clear of Kevin Glynn of Castlegar AC in second. Third overall and first woman was Grace Lynch of Iveragh AC in Kerry in a superb time of 35.44, with Sinead Whitelaw and Ruth Kelly in second and third place.

The talented Michael Canty of Moy Valley AC produced a great run to win the marathon in 2.37 minutes, with Brian Leahy of Raheny second in 2.41 minutes, and Peter Burns third in 2.43 minutes. The first woman home was Jenna Burton in 3:15 minutes, ahead of Brittany Spurrell and Louise Jones in second and third respectively.

Sergio Ciobanu of Clonliffe Harriers AC won the Half Marathon well in a great time of 66.29, with Raheny Shamrocks Freddy Keron Sittuk second and Gary Higgins of North Sligo third. First lady was Adrianna Melia of Longford AC in 1.22.16 after a great battle with Heather Noon, with Grainne Ni Uallachain of GCH third home.


Page generated in 0.2394 seconds.