Garda always in control to win Galway decider

Galway Garda have been crowned Galway Junior Football champions after a four-point victory over Boston Scientific, 2-13 to 1-12.

Played in difficult conditions in Crestwood, Garda mastered the conditions better and made up for last year’s final defeat.

Garda were quick out of the traps, and with the aid of an early David O’Connell goal, they led by six after 10 minutes. Boston came back into the contest in the second quarter, but it was the Garda who were five clear at the interval. A Paddy Moran goal in the 38th minute put the result beyond doubt, and although Boston never gave up, only a late Keith Quinn goal in the 50th minute was a reward for the gallant efforts.

Garda enjoyed first-half wind advantage, and in torrential rain, they made the early running with points from Aidan McTigue, Ger Brady and David O’Connell.

Daire Geraghty opened Boston’s account in the sixth minute before Garda found the net through David O’Connell in the 10th minute to lead by six.

Both sides added to their tallies in the second quarter - Daire Geraghty kicked four points for Boston, while Paddy Moran and Rob Molloy producd a brace of points to keep Garda five clear at the interval, 1-08 to 0-06.

Boston drew first blood after the restart when Aonghus Tierney fired over, but the killer blow was delivered with a Paddy Moran goal in the 38th minute.

Boston battled back with three unanswered points to reduce the margin, but Garda were always in control, and although Keith Quinn found the net for Boston in the 40th minute to give Boston hope, Garda now represent Galway in the Connacht championship later in the year.

Galway Garda: C Fitzmaurice, G Brady (0-1 ), A Pender, J Durcan, D Masterson, J Kerrigan (0-1f ), S Nally (0-1f ), E Rocke, T Clarke (0-1 ), D Bannon, R Molloy (0-2 ), C Barrett. P Moran (1-3 1f ), D O’Connell (1-2 ), A McTigue (0-1 ). Subs: M Caffrey (0-1 ), J Burke. Boston Scientific: D Lally, C O’Sullivan L Cregg, N Prendergast, D Meehan, A Tierney(0-1 ), C Divilly, D Geraghty(0-7, 3f ), P OHalloran, K Quinn(1-1 ), A Glennon(0-1 ), B O’Flynn, P McKenna, E McManus, N Morgan(0-1 ) Subs: D Cummins(0-1 ), C Malone, A Ryan, M McDermott, M Horan, G Farrell. Referee: F Kinneen



Page generated in 0.1012 seconds.