Canney points Medtronic to All Ireland interfirms glory

Medtronic senior footballers were crowned All Ireland champions for a second time when they defeated Ardboe Coldstore from Tyrone by 3-23 to 1-16 in Saturday's final in Michael Coney Park, Ardboe.

Medtronic, playing some fine football, were dominant in this entertaining encounter played in ideal conditions, but it was Dylan Canney with a personnel tally of 10 points who was a constant thorn for the Tyrone side.

Ardboe Coldstore made the early running and were two up inside three minutes before Canney posted the first of his tally with a 13 metre free to get Medtronic off the mark two minutes later.

Almost immediately Kevin Coney replied for Ardboe Coldstore, but in this entertaining contest, Medtronic were soon level with Michael Lundy and Barry O’Donovan on target. David Walsh and Conor Heron traded points as the sides were level on 10 minutes.

Thereafter Medtronic gained control, and scored 1-8 without reply which was the winning of the match. The lively Dylan Canney with three points, two from Cathal Newell, and scores from Aaron McHugh, David Hogan and Michael Lundy, had Medtronic in control before Enda Mullarkey fired home Medtronic’s opening goal. Ardboe Coldstore were given a boost when Michael O’Neill scored a goal on the stroke of half-time, leaving seven between the sides, 1-13 1-06.

However, the home side's hopes were dampened again when Cathal Newell rifled home Medtronic’s second goal in the 37th.

It extended the margin to 14 points, but the home side continued to battle gamely. They went on to kick seven of the next nine points as the match entered the final 10 minutes, but once again Medtronic turned the screw.

Two points from Dylan Canney and efforts from Enda Mullarkey and Michael Lundy had Medtronic 11 points clear with time running out. And with two minutes remaining Enda Mullarkey bundled the ball home for his second goal and Medtronic’s third. Michael O’Neill had the final say for the home side as Medtronic were crowned All Ireland champions for a second time.

Scorers: Medtronic: D Canney (0-10 3f ), E Mullarkey (2-1 ), C Newell (1-3 ), M Lundy (0-4 ), D Walsh (0-2 ), B O’Donovan, D Hogan and McHugh (0-1 each ).

Ardboe Coldstore: M O’Neill (1-4 ), C Heron (0-4, 1f ), R Kelly (0-2, 1f ), S Conway, A Devlin (0-2 each ), K Coney, R.Cassidy (0-1 each ).

Medtronic: K Murphy( Corofin ), P Doherty (Clonbur ), K Dooher (Killala, Mayo ), A Warde (Kilberrin, Clonberne ), A McHugh (Mountbellow Moylough ), D Walsh (Killanin ), E Mullarkey (Annaghdown ), C Cunningham (Corofin ), D Hogan (Mountbellow Moylough ), M Lundy (Corofin ), M Farragher (Corofin ), B O’Donovan (Corofin ), D Canney (Corofin ), C Newell (Corofin ), S Donnellan (Mountbellow Moylough ) Sub: D Hehir (Coolmeen, Clare )

Ardboe Coldstore: G Mallaghan (Ardboe ), C Mallaghan (Ballinderry,Derry ), O Devlin (Ardboe ), E Heron (Moortown ), A Devlin (Ardboe ), K Coney (Ardboe ), L Dawson (Castledawson,Derry ), M O’Neill (Ardboe ), S Conway (Tir na Og, Antrim ), O Mallaghan (Ardboe ), R Kelly (Moortown ), C Heron (Moortown ), B Duggan (Moortown ), G McElroy (Moortown ), E Sheeky (Ardboe ) Subs: M Cribbin (Castledawson, Derry ), R Cassidy Ardboe ), N Bell (Ardboe ), R Conlon (Moortown ), M O’Neill (Ardboe )

Referee: Ronan Barry (Down )


Page generated in 0.1025 seconds.