NUI Galway announces 2019 alumni award winners

NUI Galway has announced the winners of the 2019 Alumni Awards to be presented at the 20th annual Alumni Awards Gala Banquet on Saturday, April 13.

The NUI Galway Alumni Awards recognise individual excellence and achievements among the University’s more than 100,000 graduates worldwide. Now in its twentieth year, the Awards programme boasts an impressive roll call of more than 100 outstanding NUI Galway alumni who have gone on to make an impact in their chosen field, and in so doing honour their alma mater.

Among the distinguished honorees are President of Ireland, Michael D. Higgins, broadcasters Seán O’Rourke and Gráinne Seoige, business leaders Tara McCarthy (Bord Bia ), Adrian Jones (Goldman Sachs ) and Aedhmar Hynes (Text 100 ); figures from public life such as Pat Rabbitte, Eamon Gilmore (Tánaiste ) and Máire Whelan (Attorney General ), and sports figures such as rugby international Ciarán FitzGerald and Olive Loughnane (Olympic medallist ).This year’s awardees highlight the global impact of NUI Galway and its alumni as the University celebrates 20 years of these annual awards. The winners of the seven alumni awards to be presented at Gala 2019:

Alumni Award for Arts, Literature and Celtic Studies – Sponsored by Deloitte — Journalist & RTÉ London correspondent, Fiona Mitchell – BA 1993

Alumni Award for Business and Commerce - Sponsored by Bank of Ireland — Aviation entrepreneur, Dómhnal Slattery - BComm 1988

Alumni Award for Law, Public Policy and Government - Sponsored by Ronan Daly Jermyn — Senior counsel and jurist, Grainne McMorrow - BA 1980, LLB 1983

Alumni Award for Engineering, Science and Technology - Sponsored by Merc Partners — Cancer scientist, Dr John Lyons - BSc 1979

Alumni Award for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences - Sponsored by Medtronic — Surgeon and clinical educator, Dr Ronan Waldron - MB BCh BAO 1976, MMedSc 1984

Gradam Alumni don Gaeilge - Urraithe ag OÉ Gaillimh Journalist and broadcaster, Póilín Ní Chiaráin - BA 1965

Alumni Award for Contribution to Sport - Sponsored by Bank of Ireland — Sports medicine pioneer, Dr Mick Molloy - MB BCh BAO 1968

Speaking on the announcement of the Award recipients, President of NUI Galway, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, said it is the mission of universities to make the world a better place through teaching, research and impact.

“Our alumni awards programme recognises alumni who make a positive difference in the world and who are leaders in their chosen fields. Through their endeavours our mission is made manifest.

“I’m particularly pleased this year that we can honour a diverse group of alumni who have made a positive impact in the world – and for the world - both nationally and internationally. I congratulate each awardee and I look forward to welcoming them back to their alma mater for the Gala Banquet in April.”

For ticket and booking information contact Alumni Relations on 091 494310 or [email protected]. Online bookings at ENDS


Page generated in 0.3185 seconds.