First-quarter Bish blitz secures Irish schools’ cup

The Bish has added another basketball trophy to its cabinet, winning the U14A Subway Schools Cup on Monday.

The Galway school enjoyed a comfortable 49-35 win over Scoil Pobail Sliabh Luachra, Rathmore, after a great start which saw them in front by 13 points after the first quarter.

Aengus McBrierty open the scoring for the Bish with a quick layup, followed by points from Fabio Mooney-Garcia, and captains Kento O’Connor and Tony Ezeonu.

SPSL Rathmore responded in the second quarter, reducing the lead to single digits, but the Bish remained composed. Good defence from Viktor Tashev and Ben Byrne kept the score down, while Ryan O'Neill combined with a series of impressive assists to Brian Mitchell, who ensured the Bish still held a seven-point lead at half time.

In the second half the momentum swung in favour of the Bish again, the Bish captains adding three -pointers to push out the lead again. Strong offensive boards from Mooney-Garcia with four points and three big baskets from Tony Ezeonu balanced the scores from SPSL, and when Ezeonu scored a baseline three pointer, followed by a putback by Cian Powell, the score stretched to 17 points in favour of the Bish.

Cillian O'Donovan, Ben Byrne and Aaron Sweeney all continued to play their part in a memorable win for the Galway school to add to this season's U16A cup.

St Joseph's College (Bish ): Brendan McGuickan, Kean Walsh, Cathal Joyce, Cian Powell, Aaron Sweeney, Tony Ezeonu (cc ), Aengus McBrierty, Ben Byrne, Austin Murphy, Jack Finn, Bernard De Souza, Alex Gordon, Ryan O’Neill, Cillian O Donovan, Kento O’Connor (cc ), Brian Mitchell, Viktor Tashev, Stepan Potatov, Fabio Mooney-Garcia. Coach, Tom O'Malley.



Page generated in 0.0967 seconds.