Clean sweep for Mayo sides in FAI Junior Cup

Soccer: Mayo League Round Up

Claremorris who remain in the hunt for promotion to the Elverys Sports Super League booked their place in the fifth round of the FAI Junior Cup on Sunday afternoon last when they defeated Manor Rangers 2-1. A last minute Dean Roddy penalty was hugely decisive after he had given them a first half lead. Manor Rangers clawed one back, but Claremorris showed great hunger to steal it at the death thanks to the exploits of Roddy who has been in magnificent form this season. Manulla also progressed to the next round after recording a clinical 2-0 win over Brazukas. Goals from Declan Tonra and Rory Martyn were enough for Tom Healy’s men in a super display by the west Mayo men.

Both Westport Utd and Castlebar Celtic made it a clean sweep of wins for Mayo sides in the FAI Junior Cup on Sunday. However, the newly crowned Super League champions were pushed all the way by Roscommon League outfit Dysart as they needed an 85th minute goal from Mark McNally to steer them home. Danny Scahill and McNally had given Westport a 2-1 lead at the break, but Dysart regrouped and pressed the Covies hard with a brace from Niall Corbett. Mark McNally showed great composure to slot home the winner to put the seal on their fifth round ticket. As their Gaelic football counterparts were clashing with Roscommon county champions Clann na nGael, Castlebar Celtic recorded a 3-1 win over Ballisodare Utd at the IT Sligo astroturf facility on Sunday. Goals from Paul Moran, James Minogue and Jordan Loftus was enough to see the Hoops home, with the sole Ballisodare response coming from Andrew Patton.

Achill top the table

With Ballyhaunis Town and Bangor Hibs called off due to an unplayable pitch, there was an opportunity for Achill Rovers to climb to the summit of Premier B table and they duly obliged after recording a 2-1 win over Mulranny Utd. Brandon McGing opened the scoring in the 27th minute for Achill, before Mulranny pulled one back. A Kevin Lynch penalty in the 67th minute was the decisive goal for the FAI Club of the Year winners who worked tirelessly all afternoon. Conn Rangers B edged out Newport Town in a 5-4 thriller on Sunday afternoon. Goals from Leeroy Nevin, Mark Moyles, Danny Langdon and a brace from Shane Maughan edged the north Mayo side over the line, with Seán Rowley, Seán Chambers, Finian Chambers and Niall Mullarkey on target for Newport Town. Manulla B recorded a comprehensive 6-1 win over Snugboro Utd after a flurry of goals from Peter Moran, Des Campbell, Gary Heneghan and a Roger Clarke hat-trick.


Page generated in 0.0533 seconds.