Specific roads grants projects funding announced for the county

The details of a number of specific roads grants made by the Department of Transport for schemes in Mayo was announced recently. Minister of State in that Department, Michael Ring, made a number of announcements on the schemes. Each of the three town councils in the county in Ballina, Castlebar, and Westport will receive a block grant of €161,300. Eight Mayo roads will have been given grants under the Low Cost Safety Scheme, with €30,000 allocated to the Westport to Louisburgh road (R335 ). €15,000 allocated to Saleen Quay (R313-Belmullet to Blacksod road ), €30,000 allocated to Corradrish (L1324-near Bonnifinglas, Foxford ), €50,000 allocated to Bohaun (R323-Knock to Kiltimagh road ), €20,000 allocated to Moyne (R334-Cross to Headford road ), €3,000 allocated to the Windy Gap (L1721-Castlebar to Lahardane road ), €21,000 allocated to Kilkelly to Lowpark (LP1304/LP1904 ). and €70,000 to Bonniconlon (R294 ).

In the Erris area a grant of €295,000 for rehabilitation works at Mount Jubilee Bridge in Bangor Erris was welcomed by local Cllr Gerry Coyle, who said: “The bridge which narrows into a single lane on the main road has been a source of major concern for locals and visitors alike for many years. Despite the issue having been raised on many occasions nothing has ever been done with the bridge since it was built in the eighteen hundreds.”

Other bridges to see improvement works this year include the Bunowen Bridge project in Louisburgh which commenced last year and has been allocated €239,000 this year to complete the project. Fahy Bridge in Fahy village outside Westport has been granted €17,025 for works as has the Doo Lough Bridge on the Louisburgh-Asleigh Falls road, near Delphi Lodge. Minister Ring welcomed the news of the funding for the projects and said he looked forward to seeing the work carried out.


Page generated in 0.1737 seconds.