Good turn out at Manulla FC four miler

A record 257 people finished the now annual Manualla FC four mile race held on St Stephen’s Day in the Mayo village. The popular event was organised by the soccer club with Tracy Durkan leading the organising committee. Mayo AC’s John Byrne was the winner in a time of 21.30 with Castlebar’s Peter Tuohy coming in behind him in a time of 23.27, and Anto Devaney of Mayo AC in third place with a time of 23.43. Fourth sport went to his clubmate Henry Hughes, with Ian Egan of Tuam AC finishing in fifth and Mayo AC’s Sean Murphy in sixth place. The women’s race was claimed by Colette Tuohy of Mayo AC in a time of 24.44, with her clubmates Paula Prendergast and Sarah Syron finishing behind her in second and third place respectively. Ennis track member Siobhan Lennon finished in four, with Angela O’Connor from Mayo AC in fifth spot and Michelle Needham of Westport AC in sixth.

Mayo AC AGM this Sunday

The annual general meeting of Mayo Athletic Club will be held on Sunday January 5 at Balla Community Centre at 5pm. Club membership for 2014 (Jan 1 – Dec 31 ) is now open. Membership application and registration form is available at

Membership fee can be paid at the AGM, or as indicated on form. Fee includes insurance cover through Athletics Ireland. Tea/refreshments will be available after the AGM. There will be a draw for free membership among those who attend. All are welcome, especially new members.


Page generated in 0.1007 seconds.