Ballina Town claim Super League title after super season

The 2013 Elvery’s Sports Super League title headed to north Mayo after a titanic battle that stretched right until the very last day of the season. Ballina Town wrapped it up with a 1-0 win away to Castlebar Celtic, while Ballyheane were held to a 2-2 draw by Westport United at home. Although the title deservedly went to Ballina Town, Ballyheane had a impressive return to the Super League finishing in second place and going the whole 14 game season unbeaten in the league, finishing up with seven wins and seven draws.

In the Premier A division, Fahy Rovers claimed the title by six points from Moy Villa in second place and both sides will take their place in the Super League next season. The Premier B title was won by a classy Westport United B side who gained promotion to the division above alongside Swinford who finished just one point behind Fahy Rovers, with Ballyglass just behind them in third place. In the Welcome Inn Hotel League One, it was Kiltimagh/Knock United who won the title by two points from Achill Rovers in second place, while in the bottom division Newport Town marched to the title winning 15 of their 18 games, only losing once along the way. Kiltimagh/Knock United B took second spot and promotion finishing five points behind the winners.

In the cup competition, Westport United won the Connacht Gold Cup final with 6-2 win over Castlebar Celtic in November, while the FCS League Cup was claimed by Ballyheane who saw off league champions Ballina Town 2-1 in the final in August. The Connacht Gold shield was won by Conn Rangers who saw off Snugboro United in the final, the other divisional cups saw the Westaro Cup go to Straide and Foxford United, the Tuohy Cup to Ballyglass, the Tonra Cup to Kiltimagh/Knock United and the McDonnell Cup was claimed by Newport Town with a 3-2 win over Manulla B.


Page generated in 0.1266 seconds.