All roads lead to Hollymount this weekend

For 45 years now the Hollymount road race has been the highlight of the athletes’ diary in the winter season. All roads again will lead to Hollymount this Sunday November 7 for the 45th Annual Road Race. Hollymount is renowned because of its international appeal with a huge contingent of runners again making their way from the UK and further afield. Things get under way on Sunday at 12 noon with a Fit4Life 8k fun run and walk, at 1pm the u17 boys and girls’ 3k race will go to the start line. Half an hour later the senior women’s 3km will start, with the main event the men’s international 10k going under starters orders at 2pm.

Balla 5k results

The Balla 5k event took place at the end of October with Michael McNeela winning out. Jimmy Feeney came home in second place and Brendan Hession third. In the women’s event Angela O’Connor was the winner, Mary Moran came second and Teresa Gill third.

Ballina AC and Mayo AC members perform well in Dublin Marathon

Tom Hunt claimed gold in the o60 category in the Dublin marathon with a time of 3.10.57, with Owen Mongan coming home in third place in the o55 section in 3.15.41, but they were just two of the huge number of athletes from both Mayo AC and Ballina AC who completed the marathon in good times.

Ballina AC finishers: Tommy Neville 3.18.05; Bernard McGuinness 3.27.34, Paul Keogan 3.28.35 (PB ), Sandra Finnerty 3.33.05, Brendan Naylor 3.3409, Ann Egan 3.37.19 (PB ), Niall Cawley 3.40.27, Cathy Lynn 3.42.15. Michael Egan 3.42.23, Gerry Gallagher 3.48.12, Deirdre Lynn 3.50.12, Niall McNamara 3.55.35, Philip Finnerty 3.56.46, Dessie Barrett 4.00.01, and Sharon Kelly 4.23.37.

Mayo AC men’s finishers: Paddy O’Toole 2.43.50, John Byrne 2.44.53, Brendan Gill 2.45.05, Timmy Glavey 2.45.49, Kevin Mellett 2.58.00, David Huane 2.58.32, Gerry Galvin 3.03.24, Anto Devaney 3.07.29, Tom Hunt 3.10.57, Owen Mongan 3.15.41, Brian Cusack 3.31.05, PJ Hall 3.40.52, John Gibbons 3.42.33, Christy O’Malley 3.48.53, Tony Gleeson 4.05.05, Damien Glackin 4.11.18, Chris O’Connell 4.11.59.

Mayo AC ladies finishers: Paula Prendergast 3.07.49, Anne Fahey 3.42.30, Sarah Syron 3.46.32, Maggie Heneghan 3.50.55, Ann McDonnell 3.53.43, Yvonne Byrne 4.03.09.


Page generated in 0.1079 seconds.