Sunshine sees clubs buzzing with action



Achill Rovers will host the inaugural Achill Rovers golf classic on the nine hole Achill Golf Club links course in Keel over the weekend of June 5 and 6. It will cost €80 per team of four. For more information log on to or call 087 8119496 or 086 82828876.


President’s day (Mary Conlon ) will take place on Sunday May 30; a time-sheet will be in operation for the day. On Saturday June 29 there will be a junior scramble at 1pm, with a beginners’ competition teeing off directly after the junior competition and the course will be closed to members on Saturday evening from 6pm on. In the recent rumble competition sponsored by Sean Canny Tyres the team of Gus Heraty, Kitty O’Connor, and Geraldine Evans won out with a score of 75 (back six ). In second spot was the side of Bob Leggett, John Parson, and Michael McCarthy who also finished on 75 (back 9 ), and third was claimed by Sheila Coughlan, Breege Moran, and Mary Gillard. In the scramble competition Nancy Golding, Gerry Henry and Marian Gormley’s team claimed first place. In second place came the team of Simon Smyth, Imelda Flatley and Seamus Holian with the trio of Dick Heraty, John Walsh and Julie Loftus coming third. The Joe O’Brien Cup competition is under way and all competitors are reminded the first round games must be played by the end of the month.


In the hookers and slicers competition, Paul Cawley won out with a score of 32pts, with Gerry O’Mahony coming home in second place on 30pts. Martin McElligot came home in third place with a score of 28pts. The Scotch foursomes sponsored by Kieran O’Rourke was won by the duo of Brendan Kilgallon and Paul Harney with a score of 62.5 nett (back nine ) with the pair of Greg Battle and Junior Langdon coming second also finishing on a score of 62.5 nett to attend. The draw for the vice president’s (Mr Des Farrell ) competition takes place on Sunday next May 30. Club members are reminded that tickets for the club 400 confined draw are now on sale. They are available from any committee member or from the club office.


In last Sunday’s competition A Curley was the winner of the ladies’ competition with a fine score of 71 playing off 23. She finished just ahead of M Potgieter who also completed her round with a score of 71 playing off 15. K Fanning came home in third place with M Hierons winning the gross prize. In the gents’ section S Ludon came home in first place with a score of 62, while P Finnegan finished in second place with a score of 63. A Reddington came third with S Buckley taking the gross prize.

Mayo Cancer Support

Mayo Cancer Support association expressed its thanks to everyone who took part in the eighth annual golf am-am competition at Westport Golf Club. They especially wished to thank Carraig Donn which was the main sponsor and Tesco which donated a giant raffle for the competition. The foursome of Paul Dyar, John Mulhern, Jack Dunne, and Tony Hoban won the competition with a score of 97pts. In second place was the team of Vinnie Keogh, Philip Cawley, John Gibbons, and Michael Moran. Third place went to Niall Keogh, Mick Cullingworth, Ray Prendergast, and C Muldoon. The ladies’ competition was won by T Reddington, M Phelan, Marie Rowey, and M Lawlor.


Joe Kelly’s great start to the season was given national recognition in the Irish Independent last week. In a survey that is continuing during the 2010 season Kelly is in overall third place with his magnificent handicap reduction of 4.7 to date.

Padraig McLoughlin was the convincing winner of the inaugural Mayo seniors event of the season at Carrowholly on Thursday last. He had five shots to spare over his nearest competitor, Tom Walsh. The fine weather has the course looking in magnificent condition and this was commented on by former club captain Brendan Burns who was at the club during the week. A full list of proposed social events is currently on view in the club house.


Page generated in 0.0900 seconds.