Inter club competitions come to the fore


Winners of the Wednesday evening scramble sponsored by Design West, Kiltimagh: Back:  Pat Dillon (Lady captain), Oliver Moran, Breege Moran, Bob Leggett (captain)
Front:  Kathy McGreal, John Parsons, Breege Jennings.

Winners of the Wednesday evening scramble sponsored by Design West, Kiltimagh: Back: Pat Dillon (Lady captain), Oliver Moran, Breege Moran, Bob Leggett (captain) Front: Kathy McGreal, John Parsons, Breege Jennings.


Joe Monaghan with a score of 39 won the weekend competition in the men’s section. Tommy Foy was second with 38 and Aodan MacSuibhne was third with 37. Carmel Costello won the ladies’ section with 37 on the back. Mary Neary was second with 37 and Bernie Burke came in third with 36 points. John Walsh won the category prize with 35 points; Dara Cawley won the junior prize with 26. Patricia Larkin got a hole in one on the 15th. The competition was sponsored by SuperValu, Kiltimagh. Next weekend’s competition is a Rumble, sponsored by Sean Canny Tyres.

In was last week’s scramble competition sponsored by JT Sports, Claremorris, the team of Martin King, Dermot MacMahon, and Imelda Flatley won out. In second place was Oliver Moran, Ann Timothy and PJ Brett, while in third place was the trio of John O’Connor, Carmel Heverin and Seamus Cleary. President’s Day is down for Sunday May 30, with time sheet posted in the clubhouse, there will be a scramble for the junior starting on the Saturday at 1pm.


In the hookers and slicers competition Ted Byrne won out with a score of 33pts, he was followed home by Tom Ivers in second place who finished up on 32pts and his strong back nine finish was enough to hold off Tom Ivers in third place who also finished on 32pts. In the 18 hole stableford competition, Pat White was the winner with a score of 45 on the back nine, with Gerry Tuffy coming home in second place. Third place went to Kevin Heffernan who finished with a score of 43pts.


Last weekend’s stoke competition saw Paul Finnegan claim the junior prize with a score of 66. The ladies’ competition was won by Marge Hierons who scored 67 to hold off Kay Curly in second place. Margaret Dyer claimed third spot on the leader board at the end with Kay Buckley winning the gross competition. The gents’ section was won by Seamus Swift who scored 63, with Fergal Kelly close behind in second place on 64. Martin McDermott took third place and Shane Buckley won the gross prize.


In the men’s competition last week, sponsored by Roches Centra, Balla Derek Walsh came home in first place with a score of 68nett, the Cat 1 competition was won by Ger Noone with a score of 68 nett, Cat 2 was won by Pat Coyne with a score of 67 nett and Cat 3 was claimed by Seamus Owens with a score of 70 nett. The ladies’ competition was won by Marie Healy who shot a round of 76 nett, with Emma Prenty finishing in second with a score of 77 nett, Patrica Prendergast with a score of 77 nett came third. The club nine hole scramble is back in action every Tuesday evening with a nine hole three ball scramble for all members.

Claremorris ladies won the Western District Senior Cup in Castlebar Golf Club on Sunday May 16. Team Captain Mary Walsh and her team of Sarah Helly, Kate Gallagher, Sarah Gallagher, Kung Fanning and Emily Mchugh go on to the All Ireland finals in Cork Golf Club on Friday August 13.


The ladies’ club has got off to a blistering start to their inter-club 2010 campaign. There were victories for the junior cup, junior foursomes, intermediate cup and challenge cup teams against Castlebar, Ballinrobe, Swinford and Belmullet respectively over the last few days. Also, after the opening two rounds of their G.O.Y. competition Marie Grimes has opened up a nine point lead over defending champion Maureen Keane and Nuala Moody. Details of a new nine hole format for the ladies are now posted on the club website.

The joint favourites for the Murtagh foursomes opened their respective campaigns last week, with very different results. Tony Browne and Tom Reilly fresh their from their winter league victory are safely into the second round but Willie Elliott and Adrian Thompson crashed out at the first hurdle; it would have being a dream final.


Page generated in 0.1470 seconds.