Carramore 10k kicks off 2010 Mayo AC league

The eighth version of the very popular Carramore 10k race takes place tomorrow May 15 at 6pm, it is also race number one in the Mayo AC C & C Cellular league. A four mile walk takes place over a different course also starting at 6pm. The event organised by local man Christy Heneghan and his committee is in support of the Mayo -Roscommon Hospice. The race takes place over a generally flat course with a little hill on the last stretch. It is expected that many of the leading runners from around the west will be on the starting line, as in previous years, in the south Mayo village situated just off the main Claremorris to Hollymount road. Entries will be taken from 4.30pm in the community centre, dressing rooms and showers are available in the locality, and refreshments will be served after. The entry fee for the race is €10 and there is a cash prize for the top three finishers in the men’s and women’s section, and for places in the other categories. Points will be awarded for the top 25 finishers in the both men’s and women’s events for the road race league.

Mayo AC recently launched the league for 2010, which will once again be sponsored by C & C Cellular, the nine race league will take in events in Carramore, Claremorris, Balla, Swinford, Ballyhaunis, Ballina, Hollymount, and Westport. The league will run from May through to December.

Ballina AC runner comes twentieth in Belfast Marathon

Ballina AC athlete Roger Barrett resumed his tremendous road running season in style coming in 20th position in the Belfast marathon in a time of 2:48:56. The gruelling 26.2 miles race was held in sunshine but there was a cold northerly wind on May 3 in the northern city for the 3,500 runners who embarked on the full marathon.

Fellow Ballina AC runners Seán Gallagher finished in 27th position in a time of 2:53:45 and Michael Canty finished in 42nd position in a time of 2:58:47. The club was delighted to have three runners under the three hour mark which is an elusive target for many marathon runners. It appears that no marathon is complete these days without the inclusion of Tom Horkan. Once again, the rugged Ballina runner completed the course in 3:55:17 which meant he was in eighth position in the over 60 category. There was no separate category for the over 70s, the category Horkan can now compete in. Seasoned marathon runner Tommy McManaman also completed the course under four hours and this is the 39th marathon he has completed over the years. His next marathon will be a great milestone to accomplish! Both Finn O’Mara and Liz Murphy completed the full marathon also in what was a great day for Ballina runners and the great work being done to promote running in the town.


Page generated in 0.0761 seconds.