Deely Opticians town league darts finals


The finals of the town league darts are to take place tonight Friday March 26 in the Fáilte Suite of the Welcome Inn Hotel commencing at 8pm sharp.

The pairings start off with Cox’s v Rays in the division two final. This game is very evenly balanced as both teams have experienced and steady throwers capable of throwing under pressure on the big stage. Cox’s have players such as Padraic McManamon, Paul Kilcourse, Padraic Flynn, James Jennings, and Derek Malone who are all capable of throwing big games. Rays have also stalwarts such as Danny Cunningham, David Flannery, Rory Courrell, and Philip Prendergast who will have his team in top shape for this contest

In the division one final, it is a rematch of last year’s final with defending champions Rocky’s taking on the Harp. Rocky’s have to be favourites being champions for the last four years, but the Harp have progressed very well from last year. Tom Ryan is a major player for them, with Paul Flynn throwing a 13 darter in the semi-final also hitting form at the right time. Declan Ruane is another player throwing great darts at present. Gary Gibbons, Jo Jo and Rodney Clarke are all strong throwers capable of taking out big finishes. All in all this Harp team is well balanced and hold no fears having had the experience of the big stage from last year. Rocky’s will come into this final with confidence high as the quality of players such as John Joe Ormsby, Stephen Ormsby, James Quigley, John Moran, Phil Quigley, Brendan McDonagh, and Paul Daly are all capable of throwing big games on the big occasion. They are the champions and will not let go of their title easily. This has all the makings of a classic, and a repeat of last year’s final which went down to the wire would be ideal for all the fans.


Page generated in 0.0825 seconds.