Captain’s drive ins take centre stage


Ballina Golf Club

Last weekend’s 12 hole Stableford competition saw John Mulkerins win out with a score of 31pts (back six ) hold out for the win over Padraic Naughton who also finished with 31pts. Round three of the spring league saw the team of Gerry Mulligan, Michael O’Malley, Martin McElligot, and Claire Cook win out with a score of 43.6 nett. The final of the Spring League takes place on Sunday next, March 21. The final will be run on a shotgun start basis with all teams teeing off at 8.45am. Teams are asked to check the draw on the main notice board and to be at their allocated tee at least 10 minutes before tee off time. The league has been a great success to date and thanks are extended to all members who have participated. The entry sheet for the drive off competition on Sunday April 4 is now posted on the main notice board, an open draw will take place for this competition.


Balla Golf Club

Last weekend’s Stableford competition saw Carmel Henry win out in the ladies’ section with a score of 36, Elaine O’Hora, thanks to a good back nine, held off Geraldine Kilgallon for second place after both finished on 33. Tim Evens just held off Tom Jennings to win the gents’ competition with Michael Neary coming third. Conor Holian with a 28 won the youths’ section. The captain’s drive in will take place this Sunday at 12 noon, and will be followed by a three ball scramble.

Claremorris Golf Club

In the club winter league the team of L Cribbin, E Donnellan, K Quinn, and T Geraghty won out with a score of 80pts last weekend. M Kitching won the ladies’ competition with a score of 28pts. The captain’s drive in took place on St Patrick’s Day with Michael Conway and Peggy Tawse doing the honours.

Westport Golf Club

In last weekend’s ladies’ Stableford competition it was very tight at the top with Bridie Hughes (23 ) just holding off Nuala O’Loughlin (36 ) and Mary Feeney (36 ) to win the ladies’ section after they all finished with a score of 18pts. Geraldine Marry came fourth with a score of 17pts. In the gents section it was just as tight with Kevin Hastings just holding off Joe Kelly. Pat Farren came third, with Michael Fahy fourth. The nine hole scramble held after the captain’s drive in was won by the team of Maura Jennings, Nuala Hopkins, Jean McAleer, and Alan Browne. Next Sunday’s gents’ competition will be a 15 hole rumble.

Mulranny Golf

Last weekend the captain’s drive in three ball scramble was won by the team of J Joyce, B Moran, and E Scanlon with the trio of JJ Mulchrone, M Joyce, and B Daly coming home in second. This Sunday there will be a free sub competition for men and women, a time sheet will be in operation.


Page generated in 0.0844 seconds.