Winter leagues tee off in earnest

Castlecourt trophy winners: Sean Fitzgerald (captain), June Mathesteine (winner), Mary McDermott (sponsor), Liam Friel (winner), and Mary McNicholas (captain).

Castlecourt trophy winners: Sean Fitzgerald (captain), June Mathesteine (winner), Mary McDermott (sponsor), Liam Friel (winner), and Mary McNicholas (captain).


Last weekend’s competition sponsored by Rocky’s Castlebar was won by Aine Mhic Suibhne with a score of 37. Carmel Henry just about came second with a score of 32 (back nine ), to keep her just ahead of Kitty O’Connor in third place with 32 also. The men’s competition was won by Pat Mohan who hit 41, which put him two ahead of Liam Ralph in second place, who scored a 39, and Seamus Holian’s 37 (back nine ) was enough to take third place for him. The youths’ competition was won by Simon Smyth. This weekend’s competition is a stableford competition sponsored by Costello Shopfitters. The club AGM will take place on Monday November 18 at 8pm.


The stableford competition sponsored by An Lochán bar and restaurant, Ballyhaunis was won by Tadhg Buckley who scored 43pts playing off 14. Michael Lyons’ good showing on the back nine was enough to put him in second place with 42pts off 17, while Karl Coyne also hit 42pts off 19 to take third. The ladies’ section was won by Marge Hierons with 40pts off 15, Kathleen Fanning came second with 39pts off 19 and Kung Fanning hit 35pts off 10 to take third.


Last Sunday’s competition sponsored by David Martin and Jeremiah Higgins saw Martin Devaney claim the top prize with a score of 45pts. The Cat 1 prize was won by Peter Coen who scored 39pts, with Fergal Hughes taking the Cat 2 win on 43pts. Laurence Daly was the top man in the Cat 3 section with 38pts. Mary Walsh won the ladies competition with 36pts on the day. There will be a prize presentation evening on Sunday November 15 in the club, while on Monday November 16 the new team league will begin in earnest. The captain’s farewell and sponsors night will be held on Friday November 20, with a Mass for deceased members taking place the previous evening at 8pm. The club AGM will be held on Friday November 27 at 8pm.


Last weekend’s competition saw the winter league kick off, with Colm O’Neill winning the first nine hole competition with 52pts, Larry Hingerton came second also on 52pts, the same score as third placed Tony Ruane. Dave Scott finished back in fourth on 47pts, which was the same score as fifth place Blane Lynch. The back nine competition was won by Bill Hopkins on 50pts. There were three men who finished the day on 49pts, with Willie Maxwell finishing second, Pat Farren third and Owen Higues fourth. The top five was completed by Dermot Mullaney on 48pts in fifth. The ladies’ competition was won by Maureen Keane on 46pts.


Page generated in 0.0896 seconds.