New group format for Leinster Schools Senior A Football Championship

A new group format will be used in the Top Oil Br Bosco Cup Leinster Schools Senior A Football Championship.

Westmeath schools have been prominent in the competition in recent years and will be eager to make an impact once more.

Leinster GAA chairman, Jim Bolger said: “This Top Oil Senior A Cup has a long and proud tradition in Leinster GAA. By expanding its format to provide more games at a high-level of competition we believe it can be a crucial tool in the work we are doing to raise standards across the Province. In Br Bosco, we also have someone worthy of recognition. He gave selflessly of his time and was passionate about Gaelic Games and left a positive legacy from his work with the Patrician order in Tullow, Newbridge and Ballyfin.

“Thanks to our generous support from Top Oil we are able to maintain our tradition of supplying free playing equipment to the 240 plus schools who are affiliated to Comhairle Laighean every year.”

The new format ditches the straight knockout competition of previous years. In addition to the 18 teams in six opening round groups, there are also five combined schools teams representing Drogheda Schools, Dundalk Schools, Louth Schools, Offaly Schools and Wicklow Schools, who will play off to reach the quarter finals. The opening games are due to take place the week of November 15.

Group A: St Mel’s, Longford; Patrician, Newbridge; Sc Aodhain

Group B: St Patrick’s, Navan; St Mary’s, Knockbeg; Moate Community School

Group C: Col Mhuire, Mullingar; Col Eoin; Sc Mhuire, Clane

Group D: Good Counsel, Wexford; Naas CBS; St Mary’s, Edenderry

Group E: St Benildus Col; St Peter’s, Wexford; Athlone Community College

Group F: Maynooth PP; St Fintan’s HS, Sutton; Marist College, Athlone


Page generated in 0.0725 seconds.