Classifieds

Cinema review: Minions

Mon, Jun 29, 2015

SEQUELS TO hit childrens movies rarely go well. There are a lot more Madagascar 2s than Toy Story 3s. The fact that, rather than going down the traditional path of a third Despicable Me, a spin off of the film's most popualr characters, the minions, was planned, this reviewer was surprised but pleased.

Read more ...

Album review: The Selecter

Thu, Jun 25, 2015

The Selecters' Pauline Black and Arthur ‘Gaps’ Hendrickson.

LEGENDARY 2-TONE artists, The Selecter, have always been my 2-Tone band of choice so I was eagerly anticipating this album. The title, Subculture, lends itself well to the original ethos of 2-Tone which encouraged the mixing of genres and youth cultures - mods, punks, and rude boys all skanking to the same punky reggae beat.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Jurassic World

Mon, Jun 15, 2015

THERE IS a scene in the beginning of Jurassic Park, when we go through the huge iconic gates and the John Williams score kicks in, and if the hairs on the back of your neck don't stand up, I’m afraid, we can never be friends.

Read more ...

Album review: PINS

Thu, Jun 11, 2015

PINS.

PINS' DEBUT Girls Like Us made many friends for the Manchester quartet, but the album was more a demonstration of their latent potential rather than a full realisation of it. Two years later and it's a different story.

Read more ...

Has Jack Taylor met his match?

Thu, Jun 11, 2015

JACK TAYLOR was always a man with few close friends. These days he has none. Stewart is dead and Ban Garda Ridge has had enough of him, but the whiff of sulphur around this former guard turned vigilante for hire, is always enough to lure people to him.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Spy

Mon, Jun 08, 2015

Melissa McCarthy in Spy.

IN 2011 Bridesmaids was the sleeper hit studios dream of. It cost $30 million went on to gross nearly $300 million. It made Kristen Wiig a star and finally gave Paul Feig the hit he had coming. He had a stellar TV career - Freaks and Geeks, The Office - but he fumbled his first two attempts at the big screen.

Read more ...

From Market Street to a brave new world…..and back

Thu, Jun 04, 2015

Patricia Forde reading at Kenny's Bookshop last month. Photo:- Dean Kelly.

SINCE 1900 Galway has produced a number of quality children’s authors, beginning with Pádraic Ó Conaire on his M'Asal Beag Dubh, and continuing with Eilis Dillon's The Lost Island and Island of the Horses; Walter Macken's Flight of the Doves and The Island of the Great Yellow Ox, and, of course, Pat O’Shea from Bohermore, with her now classic The Hounds of The Morrigan.

Read more ...

Buskers, beggars, and degenerates of every persuasion

Thu, Jun 04, 2015

Skin Paper Stone author Máire T Robinson.

IT HAS been said elsewhere, but bears repeating, that Galway city is probably the most important character in Máire T Robinson’s debut novel Skin Paper Stone, published by New Island.

Read more ...

Cinema review: San Andreas

Tue, Jun 02, 2015

WATCH THE trailer for this movie. After that, if you want to see it, then go. Do you want to see San Francisco shake? Great! Now you can see it shake with for two hours with beautiful people running around, gradually shedding garments and having near misses with falling buildings and flash floods. It is the Ronseal Quick Drying Varnish of movies. It does exactly what it says on the tin.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Tomorrowland

Mon, May 25, 2015

George Clooney in Tomorrowland.

DISNEY STRUCK gold in 2003 when it turned one of its theme park rides into the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise that went on to gross $3.7 billion. Since then it has been looking for a similar live action franchise and not had much luck.

Read more ...

Album review: My Morning Jacket

Thu, May 21, 2015

My Morning Jacket.

I CAN never listen to My Morning Jacket without thinking of the American Dad episode where Stan becomes fanatically, hopelessly, obsessed with Jim James, in what has to be the programme's funniest 25 minutes to date.

Read more ...

Theatre review: DruidShakespeare

Wed, May 20, 2015

Charlotte McCurry (Blunt), Clare Barrett (Bradolph), Rory Noal (Falstaff) and Aisling O'Sullivan (Henry V) in DruidShakespeare. Photo:- Matthew Thompson

IN RECENT years Druid Theatre Company has shown itself the master of largescale theatrical projects with both DruidSynge and DruidMurphy. Yet in both cases it was dealing with playwrights in whose work it already had a deep grounding, writers and plays that could be said to be part of the company’s DNA.

Read more ...

Cinema review - Mad Max

Mon, May 18, 2015

THE TRAILER for Mad Max: Fury Road is the best 2 minutes 30 seconds YouTube has to offer, indeed it is the best trailer I’ve ever seen. In the past I’ve been burned by great trailers. A good trailer can build up what you think will be a great movie and deliver only a good or sometimes a terrible one - I’m looking at you Godzilla and crappy Miami Vice reboot. So does Mad Max live up to the best trailer ever? Oh yes.

Read more ...

Book review: Claire-Louise Bennett's Pond

Thu, May 14, 2015

Galway based author Claire Louise Bennett. Photo:- Dean Kelly

"THERE WERE lines across the pages but they were imperceptible because of how dark it had become and once a word was written it was irretrievable, as if abducted. I went on, sinking words into the pages, perhaps wondering what or who was taking them in. And, then, for the first time that day, just as it was ending, I knew where I was – I was beneath the ground. I was far beneath the ground at last, and my blood thronged and my heart flounced back and forth bewitchingly. The pen came to settle in the seam of my notebook. Sooner or later, I thought, you’re going to have to speak up.”

Read more ...

Poet leaves Enniscorthy to drive around America

Thu, May 14, 2015

Eamonn Wall.

EAMONN WALL has, over the past two decades, written a body of work that has made him one of Ireland’s leading diaspora poets, though he is nothing like as famous as he should be.

Read more ...

Album review: And So I Watch You From Afar

Thu, May 07, 2015

And So I Watch You From Afar.

HAVING BROKEN new ground, not only for themselves, but also for the post-rock genre with 2013’s All Hail Bright Futures, Antrim’s ASIWYFA could hardly be expected to reinvent the wheel yet again.

Read more ...

Album review: Rose Windows

Thu, Apr 30, 2015

Rose Windows. Photo:- Lauren Rodriguez

WHEN THE Seattle sextet unleashed their debut album The Sun Dogs in 2013, its audacity and wide scope was as much part of its appeal as the stunning music that lay within.

Read more ...

Album review: Pale Honey

Thu, Apr 16, 2015

Pale Honey's Nelly Daltrey and Tuva Lodmark.

CONTEMPORARY INDIE could be said to divide into two strands, one which takes its cues from the 1980s, the other which looks towards the 1990s.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Hot Tub Time Machine 2

Mon, Apr 13, 2015

IT IS so hard to write about comedies. Comedy is, of course, incredibly subjective. It is, however, not hard to write about comedy sequels as they are nine out or 10 times complete rubbish.

Read more ...

Album review: The Go! Team

Thu, Apr 02, 2015

LAST TIME out on 2010’s Rolling Blackouts, Brighton collective The Go! Team delivered a set of full on funk, soul, blaxploitation, and samapdelic urban.

Read more ...
 

Page generated in 0.0953 seconds.