Classifieds

Cinema review: Tomorrowland

Mon, May 25, 2015

George Clooney in Tomorrowland.

DISNEY STRUCK gold in 2003 when it turned one of its theme park rides into the Pirates of the Caribbean franchise that went on to gross $3.7 billion. Since then it has been looking for a similar live action franchise and not had much luck.

Read more ...

Album review: My Morning Jacket

Thu, May 21, 2015

My Morning Jacket.

I CAN never listen to My Morning Jacket without thinking of the American Dad episode where Stan becomes fanatically, hopelessly, obsessed with Jim James, in what has to be the programme's funniest 25 minutes to date.

Read more ...

Theatre review: DruidShakespeare

Wed, May 20, 2015

Charlotte McCurry (Blunt), Clare Barrett (Bradolph), Rory Noal (Falstaff) and Aisling O'Sullivan (Henry V) in DruidShakespeare. Photo:- Matthew Thompson

IN RECENT years Druid Theatre Company has shown itself the master of largescale theatrical projects with both DruidSynge and DruidMurphy. Yet in both cases it was dealing with playwrights in whose work it already had a deep grounding, writers and plays that could be said to be part of the company’s DNA.

Read more ...

Cinema review - Mad Max

Mon, May 18, 2015

THE TRAILER for Mad Max: Fury Road is the best 2 minutes 30 seconds YouTube has to offer, indeed it is the best trailer I’ve ever seen. In the past I’ve been burned by great trailers. A good trailer can build up what you think will be a great movie and deliver only a good or sometimes a terrible one - I’m looking at you Godzilla and crappy Miami Vice reboot. So does Mad Max live up to the best trailer ever? Oh yes.

Read more ...

Book review: Claire-Louise Bennett's Pond

Thu, May 14, 2015

Galway based author Claire Louise Bennett. Photo:- Dean Kelly

"THERE WERE lines across the pages but they were imperceptible because of how dark it had become and once a word was written it was irretrievable, as if abducted. I went on, sinking words into the pages, perhaps wondering what or who was taking them in. And, then, for the first time that day, just as it was ending, I knew where I was – I was beneath the ground. I was far beneath the ground at last, and my blood thronged and my heart flounced back and forth bewitchingly. The pen came to settle in the seam of my notebook. Sooner or later, I thought, you’re going to have to speak up.”

Read more ...

Poet leaves Enniscorthy to drive around America

Thu, May 14, 2015

Eamonn Wall.

EAMONN WALL has, over the past two decades, written a body of work that has made him one of Ireland’s leading diaspora poets, though he is nothing like as famous as he should be.

Read more ...

Album review: And So I Watch You From Afar

Thu, May 07, 2015

And So I Watch You From Afar.

HAVING BROKEN new ground, not only for themselves, but also for the post-rock genre with 2013’s All Hail Bright Futures, Antrim’s ASIWYFA could hardly be expected to reinvent the wheel yet again.

Read more ...

Album review: Rose Windows

Thu, Apr 30, 2015

Rose Windows. Photo:- Lauren Rodriguez

WHEN THE Seattle sextet unleashed their debut album The Sun Dogs in 2013, its audacity and wide scope was as much part of its appeal as the stunning music that lay within.

Read more ...

Album review: Pale Honey

Thu, Apr 16, 2015

Pale Honey's Nelly Daltrey and Tuva Lodmark.

CONTEMPORARY INDIE could be said to divide into two strands, one which takes its cues from the 1980s, the other which looks towards the 1990s.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Hot Tub Time Machine 2

Mon, Apr 13, 2015

IT IS so hard to write about comedies. Comedy is, of course, incredibly subjective. It is, however, not hard to write about comedy sequels as they are nine out or 10 times complete rubbish.

Read more ...

Album review: The Go! Team

Thu, Apr 02, 2015

LAST TIME out on 2010’s Rolling Blackouts, Brighton collective The Go! Team delivered a set of full on funk, soul, blaxploitation, and samapdelic urban.

Read more ...

On being autistic: a personal witness

Thu, Apr 02, 2015

IN HIS extraordinary book, The Reason I Jump - One Boy’s Voice From The Silence Of Autism, Naoki Higashida, an autistic boy aged 13, writes: “We are misunderstood and we’d give anything if only we could be understood properly...Please, understand what we really are, and what we’re going through.”

Read more ...

Cinema review: Cinderella

Mon, Mar 30, 2015

Lily James as Cinderella.

KENNETH BRANAGH’S career continues to mystify me. In the early 1990s he was the poster boy for the RADA’s new wave, his peers included Alan Rickman, Fiona Shaw, and Jonathan Pryce, but it was Branagh who catapulted to fame first through adapting, directing, and acting in big budget adaptations of Shakespeare.

Read more ...

Album review: Not Squares

Thu, Mar 26, 2015

Not Squares.

IMPRESSIVE THOUGH Not Squares’ 2010 debut Yeah OK was, eight of its 10 songs were completely overshadowed by epic raver ‘Release The Bees’ and the post-punk riff fest ‘Asylum’.

Read more ...

Cinema review: Wild Card

Mon, Mar 23, 2015

Jason Statham in full on fighting mode in Wild Card.

TWO ACTION movies are released this weekend, and while The Gunman with Sean Penn seems to have the bigger advertising budget, Wild Card, with the always watchable Jason Statham, was the one that caught my eye.

Read more ...

Dr Sketchy’s - a life drawing class cabaret

Thu, Mar 19, 2015

THE BAD girls of Gotham City - Harley Quinn, Poision Ivy, and Catwoman - will be the subjects and inspirations for Dr Sketchey’s - a life drawing class unlike any other.

Read more ...

Enter Metropolis enter Galway

Thu, Mar 19, 2015

ENTER METROPOLIS, the German alternative-rock band are coming to Monroe’s Live on Sunday March 29 as part of their current Enter Ireland Tour.

The band will play songs from their debut album Bright Lights, which came out at the end of last year. Their energetic sound is defined by tight grooves, incisive guitars, and swirling keyboard sounds. The band members have 10 year’s experience of recording and touring, and put this to good effect in their live shows.

Read more ...

Russian Ballerina to come to Galway

Thu, Mar 19, 2015

LEADING RUSSIAN ballerina Svetlana Robos is coming to Galway in August to give a week-long ballet masterclass.

Read more ...

Album reviews: Noel Gallagher and Dr Feelgood

Wed, Mar 11, 2015

Noel Gallagher.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds - Chasing Yesterday (Sour Mash)

Read more ...

Cinema review: Kill the Messenger

Mon, Mar 09, 2015

Jeremy Renner in Kill The Messenger.

KILL THE Messenger is the remarkable story of how a reporter from the tiny San Jose Mercury News managed to scoop The Washington Post and the New York Times to one the CIA’s biggest controversies of the 1990s.

Read more ...
 

Page generated in 0.0703 seconds.