Victory for Kathy Gleeson in Irishtown 8k

Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris ) was the winner of the fourth annual Padraig Cullina Memorial Irishtown 8k. The race was also a Mayo AC 2016 Vodafone C&C Cellular Club League race and the first of five upcoming Club League 8ks/5mile target races or bonus events, with points to be won by competing Mayo AC club members. The course is one lap starting and finishing near the community centre and has some tough stretches, particularly over the final two kilometres.

It is not often that a woman is the overall road race winner but Kathy Gleeson's recent form in the 5k series underlined her success. Over the 5k series she battled with Mayo AC's Brendan Murphy and Paddy Walsh - both of them finished ahead of her in the final 5k race in Castlebar the previous Tuesday. However Kathy's stamina and resilience over the longer distance on a course with tough uphill finish showed as she headed first man Paddy Walsh by 10 seconds. Masters athletes took all the main prizes - with Mayo AC the main winners. Brendan Murphy won the o40 prize and is now a clear leader in the men's Club League table. Third woman finisher Angela McVann is top of the women's table.


Women: 1st: Kathy Gleeson (Claremorris ) 31:04; 2nd: MargaretGlavey (Mayo AC ) 37:40, 3rd: Angela McVann (Mayo AC ) 38:38. Over 40: 1st: Mary Moylett (Mayo AC ) 43:00, Over 50: 1 Una McGrath (Mayo AC ) 46:22.

Men: 1st: Patrick Walsh (Mayo AC ) 31:14, 2nd: David Delaney 31:25, 3rd: Tom McNicholas (Swinford AC ) 31:44. Over 40: 1st: Brendan Murphy (Mayo AC ) 32:04; Over 50: 1st: Michael Sweeney (Mayo AC ) 33:44.


Page generated in 0.0745 seconds.