Mayo XL stores take top prizes at prestigious XL Store of the Year Awards

McDonnell’s XL and Clarke’s XL stores were honoured for excellence at the recent prestigious XL Store of the Year Awards.

Peter McDonnell’s XL store in Kilalla won the award for Best in Fresh, while Sheila Clarke’s XL in Ballina won the award for Loyalty Champion.

Retailers from all over Ireland gathered at the Mount Wolseley Hotel, Carlow, for the awards ceremony run by BWG Foods, owner and operator of the XL brand. The XL Store of the Year Awards are only given to stores that pass a tough year-long inspection, including visits from mystery shoppers. Now in their seventh year, the awards attracted a record number of entrants from all across the country.

Colm Fitzsimons, XL national business development manager, paid tribute to all winners and finalists on the night: “XL retailers take pride in serving their local community at the highest possible level, so it is no surprise to see so many have enrolled in the XL Store of the Year Awards programme," he said. "By striving to meet these exacting standards they help improve not just their own stores, but the XL brand as a whole across Ireland.”

The XL retail group continues to grow with more than 240 stores across the country. John Moane, managing director of BWG Foods Wholesale Division, said: “XL retailers have a passion and drive for business and a real knowledge of and loyalty to their local community. I’d like to congratulate our very deserving County Mayo winners, Peter and Sheila, on their awards tonight. I’m sure we’ll see even more XL retailers at the awards ceremony next year.”


Page generated in 0.1008 seconds.