Conway and Murtagh win in Ballinrobe

The ninth edition of the annual spring Ballinrobe run bike run event was hailed as the best yet despite the cold wet conditions, a change to the first run meant all participants had 1.5k extra to cover, there were bigger gaps than normal between the bikers which made for a harder event.

A field close to 300 participants travelled from all four provinces to compete and the event was a huge lift to the town of Ballinrobe.The event was supported by Ballinrobe Tidy Towns, Abbey Tyres, Cummins Homevalue, Western Lakes CC, An Garda, Order of Malta, Lakeside Centre, Core Timing, and Mayo Road Safety.

Sponsor Marrey Bikes held the sign on and post event prize presentation at its new super store premises on Watson’s Lane, Ballinrobe. Ballinrobe Physiotherapy Clinic, also Watson’s Lane, sponsored the prizes for the first locals home. Vaughan Shoes, Main Street, sponsored first prizes for the women’s and men’s category, and Aurivo Goodness shakes sponsored a shake for all finishers.

The men’s competition was won by Brendan Conway from Westport Tri Club who finished in a time of 59.45, Jonathan Rowland finished in second place with the Liquid Motion Tri Club man finishing in a time of 1:02.09, and Galway Tri Club’s Art Naughton finished in third place in a time of 1:02.33. The men’s junior event was won by Ben Walsh from Westport Tri Club with Jimmy Lawlor claiming the Over 40 event and Martin Kinneavy from Western Lakes CC taking the Over 50 gents’ win.

The ladies’ event was won by Lough Key Tri Clubs Siobhan Murtagh in a time of 1:06.03, Lorraine Carey finished in second place, with the Liquid Motion Tri Club athlete finishing just eight seconds behind her. Lough Key Tri Club’s Michelle Lannon came home in third place, with Nessa Gibbons from Western Lakes wining the junior event. Colette Sweeney won the Over 40 event and Cathy Regan claimed the Over 50 competition win.

The relay competition was won by John Kyne and Shane Holleran from Western Lakes, with their clubmates Paul Phillips and Jerry Towey finishing in second place, and third place was claimed by James Marry and Niall McLaughlin from Westport.

In the locals’ event, John Gill from Hollymount won the mens race with Paula O’Neill taking the ladies’ local win. The next event in the Ireland West Duathlon series is Ashford Duathlon Cong on March 4.


Page generated in 0.0716 seconds.