Summer series comes to an end


The final race of Mayo AC’s five Summer 5ks took place at Ballinrobe on Tuesday evening (June 18 ). It brought the curtain down on a successful and enjoyable 10th annual series.

There were 171 finishers in Ballinrobe – best field of the Series so far – with continued good representation from clubs in the West. Racing conditions were good: calm, warm, and sunny.

This relatively flat course produced lots of fast times and many personal bests right through the field.

Westport AC brought a big contingent to all five races, and contributed top three finishers, with many others in their squad coming away with pbs.

Mayo AC had another great turnout – well done to them, and to all finishers.

Thomas Devaney (Castlebar AC ) came home the Ballinrobe winner in an impressive 15:50. The seventeen year old student was just ten seconds ahead of Brendan Conway (Westport AC ) in a close fought finish. Thomas won the Castlebar 5k leg of the Series last year and is a very promising young athlete. Brendan Conway has been on the podium in all of the series races. His clubmate David Hickey was third in the event in 17:03.

Pat Morrison was the first Mayo AC finisher – a brilliant fourth in 17:11, with Michael Rocke next in 17:27.

Catherine Conway (Mayo AC ) won the women’s race in an excellent 18:43 – her best time of three series races and her second win. Edel Reilly won at Ballyhaunis and Castlebar and she set a fast pace from the start. In the end there was just sixteen seconds separating the first three. Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC ) had another great run and she pipped Edel to finish second in 18:55.

After winner Catherine Conway, Pauline Moran was Mayo AC’s next woman home in a fantastic 20:28, the W60 champion showing the way. Mayo AC club league leader Paula Donnellan Walsh was their next athlete across the line in 20:58.

At the Series After Party in Art O'Neill's the winning men and women from the five races received their prizes.

2019 Mayo AC Summer 5k Series

Race winners

Claremorris: John Higgins (Mayo AC ) 17:15; Catherine Conway (Mayo AC ) 19:25

Castlebar: Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC ) 15:41; Edel Reilly 19:00

Ballyhaunis: Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC ) 15:28; Edel Reilly 18:53

Foxford: Jake O’Regan (St John’s AC ) 15:27; Norah Newcombe Pieterse (Mayo AC ) 17:25

Ballinrobe: Thomas Devaney (Castlebar AC ) 15:49; Catherine Conway (Mayo AC ) 18:43.

Maria Kneafsey (Secretary Mayo AC ) presented the prizes assisted by club treasurer/registrar, John Timothy. Maria thanked all who competed in the five races, local clubs who supported, and all the stewards and volunteers at the five locations.

She also thanked Joan Walsh, leader of the Ballinrobe team who organised the event. It was very well run as usual and she was supported by John Timothy, other Mayo AC members, plus the local Lake District AC and the Order of Malta.

Maria also thanked Art O’Neill’s for their facilities for the After Party presentations, and McHugh’s of Ballinrobe, who supplied an excellent array of refreshments.

Thanks also to Ronnie and Mark Naylor of Perfect Timing who chip timed the five races. All who competed in the Series were in an open draw for prizes and Elvery’s vouchers.

The lucky winners were Garret Bracken, Michael Rocke, Mark Fitzgerald, Padraic O’Malley, Angie Hughes, Geraldine Sheehy, Cuan McCarrick, Thomas McLoughlin, Dylan Walsh, Sheelagh McDonnell and Clodagh Ruane.

Ballinrobe 5k first three: (full results at )

Men 1 Thomas Devaney (Castlebar ) 15:49; 2 Brendan Conway (Westport AC ) 15:59, 3 David Hickey (Westport AC ) 17:04.

Women: 1 Catherine Conway (Mayo AC ) 18:43; 2 Maura Ginty (Sportsworld AC ) 18:55; 3 Edel Reilly 18:59.



Page generated in 0.0543 seconds.