€1.38 million for Mayo in Government Sports Grants Scheme

O’Mahony disappointed with drop in funding

Funding for Mayo sporting clubs and organisations under the Government’s Sports Grants Scheme has been announced this week by Beverley Flynn TD, who has also urged disappointed clubs to contact her to begin the process of reapplying for next year.

Twenty-nine clubs in Mayo are to benefit from the scheme which sees an allocation of €1,380,500 to the county. However, while welcoming the allocation, Fine Gael spokesperson on sport Deputy John O’Mahony has expressed his disappointment in the drop in funding in the county this year which has decreased €1.2 million from last year.

“I would in particular like to welcome the allocation of €65,000 to the Lower Achill Community Development Co. Ltd; €80,000 to the Swinford GAA Club; €80,000 to the Moygownagh GAA; €250,000 to the Golfing Union of Ireland; €40,000 to Breaffy GAA Club; €90,000 to St Patrick’s GAA Club, Westport and €50,000 to Burrishoole GAA Club,” Dep Flynn said this week.

“Investment in sporting clubs and organisations is essential for our rural communities. Local clubs often form the backbone of rural life, providing a vital focus for the community, bringing people together while encouraging a lifetime commitment to sport and fitness for children.

“This year the funding has been focused where it is needed most, to those communities, clubs and organisations that need it most.

“I know that there are some clubs and organisations that will be disappointed this time around but I would like to urge them to apply to the Department of Arts, Sports and Tourism for their score sheet. Each application is scored and the results will allow local clubs to see where their application can be strengthened for next year.

“I would urge any disappointed clubs to contact me so we can begin this process and hopefully have a better result for next year,” concluded Dep Flynn.

Mayo funding

Neale GAA club €60,000; Lower Achill Community Development Co Ltd €65,000; Swinford GAA Club €80,000; Ballyglass Association Football and Social €80,000; Moygownagh GAA and Community €80,000; Golfing Union of Ireland €250,000; Mayo Association Football League €28,000; Mayo Co Co Ballyhaunis Abbey Trust Ltd €80,000; Ballyhaunis Rugby Football Club €30,000; Glenans Irish Sailing Club €35,000; Kiltimagh/Knock Utd Soccer Club Ltd €12,000; Claremorris GAA Club €70,000; Sean Duffy Community Centre €35,000; Kiltimagh GAA Club €40,000; Ballina Athletic Club €11,000; Swinford Amenities Development Ltd €40,000; Ballina Rugby Football Club €70,000; All Stars Boxing Club Ballinrobe €2,000; Breaffy GAA Club €40,000; Ardagh GAA Club €6,000; Knockmore/Rathduff ESD Co Ltd €50,000; St Patrick’s GAA Club €90,000; Ardnaree Sarsfields GAA Club €15,000; James Stephens Hurling Club Ballina €6,500; Tooreen Hurling Club €30,000; Eagle Boxing Club €10,000; Burrishoole GAA Club €50,000; Kilmurry Sport and Social Centre €10,000; and Bofield Community Group €5,000.


Page generated in 0.1550 seconds.