Westport United keep up winning ways

Soccer: Mayo League round up

Westport United maintained their push for a league title with a 5-1 win over Manulla last Sunday afternoon. Dave Hoban nailed two first half goals along with an unfortunate Keelan McDonnell own goal. Tom Healy’s men were struggling to generate any momentum and in fairness to them they regrouped after the break with Matthew Nolan cutting the gap on 52 minutes. However, the Covies reignited their challenge as goals from Joe Lawless and a close range Vinny O’Malley effort put a seal on the three points on offer.

Castlebar Celtic suffered a heart-breaking defeat at the hands of near neighbours Ballyheane on Saturday night as a ninth minute Derek O’Brien penalty was ultimately the difference between the sides. Conn Rangers put their early season misery behind them with yet another win on Saturday night with a 2-1 victory. Johnnie Cocozzoa gave Conn Rangers a 23rd minute lead but Straide and Foxford United who are in the midst of a relegation battle fought to the bitter end. Jason Farrell and Conor Sherry exchanged goals but Rangers held firm and closed out the game.

Ballina Town recovered from their cup defeat at the hands of Claremorris last weekend with a hard-fought 2-0 win over struggling Charlestown Athletic. Brendan Lavelle capitalised on a defensive error in the 41st minute but they had to wait until the 86th minute to make sure of the points as Lavelle slotted home. Ballyglass reignited their league campaign after a recent slump in form with a stunning 7-1 win over Iorrais Aontaithe in what was a fractious affair. Ballyglass raced into an early two goal lead but Kyle O’Reilly pared the deficit just before the break. However, a controversial sending off on the resumption of David Reilly seemed to suck the life out of the Iorrais challenge. JP O’Gorman grabbed four along with efforts from Liam and Dylan Hughes and Conor Heneghan. 

Ballyhaunis score big victory

Ballyhaunis Town recorded an impressive 4-0 win over Newport Town on Saturday evening thanks to goals from Robbie McCormack (2 ), Joey Loughran, and a super 40 yard effort by Jamil Kezze. Snugboro Utd also fashioned a brilliant 5-1 win over Urlaur Utd with braces from Joe McDonnell and Jason Ormsby and an effort from Enda Lavelle. In a real ding-dong battle both Mulranny United and Manulla B came away with a share of the spoils in a thrilling 2-2 draw. Stephen Patten opened the scoring for Mulranny United but Manulla B fought back through Niall McHale. Patrick Grealis pushed Mulranny ahead but a 92nd minute equaliser by Roger Clarke rescued a point for Manulla. Amazingly Clarke was sent off a mere 30 seconds later.

Bangor Hibs suffered their first league defeat since June 2014 on Sunday afternoon as north Mayo neighbours Conn Rangers B defeated them 5-2. Both Leroy Nevin and Shane Maughan grabbed braces for Rangers along with a brilliant Kelvin Nevin strike. Brian McHale added to his league tally with a double but unfortunately they met a well drilled Conn Rangers outfit. Achill Rovers had to dig deep to see off Ballinrobe Town in a 3-2 win with goals from Chris Western, Johnny Kiernan, and Mark Davitt enough to see them over the line.

Fahy grit out hard fought win

Fahy Rovers B were pushed all the way by Hollister and they had to show great resolve to record a 5-3 win. Paul Groden and Joey Smyth grabbed braces along with an effort from Johnathan Concannon. Two second half goals by Shane Devers and Daniel Helly were enough for Ballina Town B to see off Kiltimagh/Knock United B. In arguably the tie of the weekend Snugboro United B defeated Charlestown Athletic B on a 5-4 score-line. Charlestown Athletic raced into an early two goal lead thanks to efforts from Noel Gavaghan and Billy Murphy. However, Snugboro got a grip on proceedings with goals form Enda Lavelle (two ), Stephen Boyle, James McHale, and Des Walsh. A late Billy Murphy goal ensured Snugboro had some nervous moments at the death. Crossmolina kept their promotion hopes alive thanks to a 3-1 away to Ballyvarry Blue Bombers with Brian Benson, Martin Munnelly, and Cormac Bleihin on target.


Page generated in 0.0985 seconds.