Lavin takes Captain’s Prize in Balla, while Burke leads in Ballinrobe


James Lavin won the Balla Captain’s Prize competition with a score of 107 nett over the 36 holes played in the competition, Eddie Holian finished in second place with Steve Walsh jr taking the gross prize and Bernie O’Connor finishing in third spot. The ladies’ competition was won by Gabrielle Clesham who scored 54 nett with Nora Heraty finishing second, Breege Jennings was the gross prize winner and Julie Loftus took third place.


The open week singles competition was won by M Parsons with a score of 39pts, J Murphy finished in second with A Hennigan in third place. Other placed finishers were D Cronin, D McHale, D Flaherty, T Cronin, and S Rowley.


The leaderboard after the start of the Captain’s Prize at the moment sees John C Burke out in front with a score of 65 nett, he is followed by Niall Staunton in second place and Enda Staunton in third spot. Joanne Comer took the win in the Captain’s Prize for the lady members with a score of 70 nett, Penny Eustace finished in second place with Shannon Burke winning the gross prize and Connie D’Arcy finishing in third place.

The Friday open competition saw Ryan Jennings win the gents’ section with a score of 40pts and Sarah McDermott take the ladies’ win with a score of 31pts.


Peter Coen’s 68 nett was enough to win the Phelan Motor Factors competition last weekend, he finished in front of Kieran Canavan in second, Matt O’Donovan in third, and Gerry Kilkenny in fourth. The ladies’ 18-hole competition was won by Margaret Flannery with Dympna Clarke taking the nine-hole win.


Castlebar ladies club will host a gala open day on Wednesday August 20 in Castlebar Golf Club. The day will be sponsored by Jacques Vert Fashions and there will be lots of prizes in various categories, and on the day skin analysis and beauty advice will be provided by Boots Castlebar.


Page generated in 0.0929 seconds.