Captains’ prizes still swinging into action around Mayo


Last weekend’s stableford competition which was sponsored by McEllin Plant Hire was won by Richard Murphy with a score of 38pts. Paraic Cuffe finished in second place with Frank Larkin in third. The ladies’ competition was won by Patricia Conwell with a score of 39pts, with Mary Fahy finishing in second place and Geraldine O’Malley coming home in third place. The annual open week classic competition will continue over the weekend until Bank Holiday Monday. Teams of four cost €40 for entry.


John Slater proved a popular winner of Gerry Mulligan's Captain's Prize in Ballina. In a nail-biting tight finish a number of players finished on 101.5 after 27 holes, but Slater just edged out Des Sweeney and Joe Kennedy on the third nine score, with Brendan Kilgallon winning the gross prize. Joe Slater finished in fourth place with category wins going to Henry Bourke, Joe Kennedy, and Martin Maguire. The past captains’ competition was won by Michael O’Malley.

The open week will swing into gear next Monday August 3 and will run until Sunday August 10.


Curley’s Pharmacy and Jewellers in Ballyhaunis was the sponsor of last weekend’s competition which was won by Bill Maxwell with a round of 64. Michael Webb finished in second place and Barry Mulligan finished in third, with the gross prize going to Tommy Moran. The ladies’ competition was won by Marietta Potgieter with a round of 65, Laurena Freely finished in second place, Kay Keane in third, and the gross win went to Fiona Prenty. The junior section was taken by Liam Foody.


Last weekend’s Golf Style sponsored competition was won by Richie Hickey with a round of 68, John Mulroy finished in second, with Charlie Muldoon in third place. The gross was won by Shane O’Connor, with Patsy Bourke winning the front nine section and Mark Deely the back nine section. After six rounds of the The Deeley Opticians Golfer of the Year Charlie Muldoon leads the way with 65pts, Michael Connaughton is in second on 61pts, and Seamus Granaghan sits in third place with 55pts. The ladies’ competition was won by Anne Gallagher who scored 40pts, Anne O’Sullivan finished in second, with Ger Lyons in third, and Connie Whyte winning the gross.


It was Noel Grier’s Captain’s Prize last weekend and Declan Hession was the winner with a score of 168.5 nett. Conor McGuinness finished in second, Pat Coyne in third, and Pat Killeen won the gross prize. Ray Wolley finished in fourth, with Martin Higgins winning the second gross and Andrew Finn coming home in sixth. Willie Feeley was the best scorer over the first 18 and John Haverty over the second 18. Derek Corcoran won the beginners section, with Brandon Walsh winning the juniors’ prize.

The ladies’ competition was won by Ann Moran, with Christina Rush in second place and Nancy McHugh in third. The gross prize went to Kate Gallagher with Patricia Hunt winning the nine hole event.


Martin O’Morain was the winner of the Broderick Electrical, Castlebar and Westport, sponsored stableford competition last weekend. O’Morain’s superior back nine saw off the challenge of Tom Duffy, when both men finished on 41pts. Rick Kenny came third with a score of 38pts. A nine hole scramble competition will continue each Friday evening through August teeing off at 6pm.


Last weekend’s AIB sponsored competition was won by Trevor Fitzgerald who scored 42pts, he finished in front of Jack O’Donnell in second place and Padraig Cunningham in third, with Liam Halpin finishing in fourth place. There were category wins for Eugene Lavelle, Paul Moore, Noel Feeney, and David Newtown. This Sunday between 5pm and 7pm the club will host a family fun event where children can take part in golf competitions on the course. There is no need for preregistration.


Page generated in 0.1203 seconds.