Scahill seals it for Mayo

All Ireland MHC C Final

Mayo 1-15

Monaghan 0-8

A goal nine minutes before time from Castlebar Mitchels Corey Scahill wrapped up the All Ireland Minor C Hurling title for Mayo in Ballinamore on a wet Saturday afternoon. Scahill pulled on a ball slug across the goalmouth by second half sub Jason Byrne and slammed it to the back of the net from close range.

Mayo were on top right from the off in this contest with midfielder and captain Fergal Boland driving them on from his station and contributing six points to Mayo's tally from placed balls over the 30 minutes. At the break Mayo went in leading by 0-11 to 0-5. Boland landed all of his scores in that half, with Conor Canty, Sean Mulroy and Scahill all also chipping in on the scoreboard. Monaghan were hemmed back in their half for long periods of the contest and only really got into the game late on in the half with their captain and full forward Donal Meegan landing three points from frees with Cathal McAnespie and Ronan Curran both chipping in with a point each.

Despite being looking to be in control the Mayo manager Brian Finn wasn't afraid to change things around and introduced two subs in the first half.

Monaghan had the wind advantage for the second half, but Mayo give them a chance to use it to try and close the gap hitting them with a brace of early points from half-time replacement Jason Coyne and wing-forward Morgan Lyons. As the conditions began to deteriorate underfoot so did some of the hurling, but Mayo kept plugging away on the scoreboard when they could and by the time Scahill drove the sliothar home they were already leading by double scores 0-14 to 0-7. Monaghan did have a chance to put some gloss on the gap at the end when they were awards a semi-penalty, but Ronan Curran's effort was block by a combination of Shane Nugent and Davog Frayne in the Mayo goal.

Mayo: D Frayne; J Lyons, D Cunnane, S Coughlan; J Judge, S Nugent, J Murphy; J Morley, F Bolan (0-6,5f ); S Healy, C Canty (0-1 ), M Lyons (0-2 ); C Scahill (1-3,1f ), Z O'Toole, S Mulroy (0-1 ) Subs:R Comer for S Coughlan, M Phillips for Z O'Toole, J Coyne (0-2 ) for R Comer, N Kenny for C Canty

Monaghan: M O'Dowd; R O'Neill, N Flood, N McSuibhne; A Kerr, C Boyle, T Bramley; A Curran, C McAnespie (0-1 ); R Curran (0-1 ), C McQuaid, S Mohan; J Dooley, D Meegan (0-6, 6f ), T Forde Subs: M McSuibhne for J Dooley, S Tenor for S Mohan,


Page generated in 0.0879 seconds.