Minor hurlers go for glory in All Ireland final

The Mayo minor hurlers will line out in the final of the All Ireland Minor C Hurling Championship hoping to repeat their football counterparts’ recent victory over The Farney County. Mayo will face off against the Ulster men in Ballinamore, Co Leitrim, at 2pm, tomorrow, September 7.

The team is managed by Tooreen’s Brian Finn ably assisted by John Regan, James Stephens, Ballina, and Adrian Brennan, Ballyhaunis.

The Mayo side qualified for the final courtesy of wins over Sligo (1-17 to 0-7 ) and Cavan (1-16 to 0-2 ) in the group stages of the competition. Monaghan had wins over Tyrone and Louth on their path to the final. Mayo Manager Finn will be looking to strong performances from players from recent county minor championship winners Tooreen including team captain Fergal Boland to take the battle to Monaghan. Other key players in the squad include Castlebar’s Corey Scahill and Shane Nugent, brothers Morgan and James Lyons, and Shane Healy from Ballyhaunis, Conor Canty, Shrule-Glencorrib, and James Murphy, Moytura.

Monaghan will present a very stern test to Mayo having being training collectively since early in the year. They contested the Ulster minor hurling shield final back in April but were defeated 2-7 to 0-5 by a strong Donegal team. Monaghan will be looking to players like Dónal Meegan, Conor Boyle, Aodh Curran, Noel Flood, and Ryan O’Neill to lead the way in the final.

Finn and his management team have been putting the Mayo 33 man squad through a very rigorous training regime since their qualification for the final back in July, including several early morning training sessions and challenge games with Galway club teams. There are no serious injury concerns within the squad and expectations are high that this team can achieve ultimate glory this year.


Page generated in 0.1136 seconds.