Four Mayo candidates to run for Fianna Fáil Ard Comhairle

Fianna Fáil members from across Co Mayo will travel to Dublin this weekend for the party’s largest annual gathering, the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis.

The event, which takes place at the RDS in Dublin on Friday and Saturday, culminates in the election of a new National Executive. There are four Fianna Fáil members from Co Mayo running for positions. Ballina TD Dara Calleary is set to be re-elected as honorary secretary of the party, while 26-year-old barrister from Castlebar Lisa Chambers will be re-elected as party vice president.

Westport journalist Joan Geraghty, who was recently appointed a Fianna Fáil local area representative, is also seeking election to the Ard Comhairle for the first time, while Mayo accountant Henry Cleary is seeking re-election.

The theme of the event is ‘A Fairer Way to Recovery’. It will focus on solving the mortgage crisis, job creation, and supporting SMEs, the current challenges posed by an increase in crime in communities, and problems in the Garda force, the cost of childcare, and supporting young people.

Mayo Deputy Dara Calleary said it is an important event for the party.

“This is about listening to our members, putting our heads together and coming up with realistic and constructive policies to tackle the real challenges facing families and communities here in Mayo and across the country,” the Fianna Fáil deputy said.

“We want to find a fairer way to recovery – a way that will not mean the total dismantling of community services and that will not unfairly target the frontline public servants who run our hospitals and keep our streets safe. We want to see a proper focus on helping people struggling with their mortgages so that families are given a fair chance at a positive future.

“I am greatly encouraged by the level of interest in this event among party members and activists across Co Mayo. I want to wish Lisa Chambers the very best in her second term as Fianna Fáil vice president and wish Henry and Joan all the best as they seek election to the committee of twenty on the Ard Comhairle.”


Page generated in 0.1559 seconds.