Medal haul for Mayo AC at indoor masters

Following their cross-country success last week in Derry, Mayo AC's versatile masters women, plus a couple of men, competed at the new track in Athlone AIT in the Woodie’s DIY Indoor Masters track and field championships on Saturday last. For two of the women, it was their debut in this annual indoors event. Newport based Pauline Moran has been winning all over the place since joining the club and it was another gold medal display – after her Derrygold last week. She ran in three races, winning silver in the 800 metres and gold in both the 1500 and 3,000. Another debutante was Swinford based Margaret Glavey, who also ran three races in the W60 category and won all three – golds in 800, 1500, and 3,000. Glavey has also been in fine form and medallist at a number of distances on the road in recent years. Ann Murray has been a regular medal winner at these championships and she won gold in the 400 and silver in the 800 metres in the w45 category. Jim Gaughan returned to training in the New Year and competed in the M60 1500 metres where he won silver behind Martin McEvilly (GCH ). Also taking place last weekend were the Kilbride 10k in Roscommon and the Enniscorthy 10k in Wexford. In Roscommon, Gerry Galvin was the first Mayo AC runner home finishing in ninth place in a time of 39.27, with Patrick Walsh taking first place in the M40 section in a time of 39.51. Ann Lennon came home in second place overall in the women’s race in a time of 41.04. In Enniscorthy, TJ McHugh in a time of 34.32 was the first Mayo AC runner over the line and finished in 19th place while Catherine Conway finished the women’s race in third place in a time of 36.14.

Jim Ryan to be honoured Mayo Athletic Awards

Westport Athletic Club is this year hosting the 2012 C & C Cellular/Vodafone Mayo Athletic Awards which will be held at a gala function in the Castlecourt Hotel, Westport, on Sunday, February 17. Athletes from all over Mayo will be honoured for their contribution to athletics during the past year. Another person to be honoured on the night is Jim Ryan who will be presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Ryan is a native of Kilbeggan and his first involvement with athletics happened in the early 1960s when he was at school in Kilbeggan national school. He moved to Claremorris in 1973 and became involved in the club in the early eighties. Claremorris at that time had a very good 400m track, but it was clear that if Claremorris Club were to get regional or national events; it would require an upgrade to a tartan track.

He was involved with the late Ray Leonard in the first application for an outdoor track, and was also involved with two applications for a 200m indoor facility with spectator area for 1,200 spectators. All of three applications were unsuccessful. However in 2010 an application was made to extend the existing indoor facility and in 2012 an application for a 400m Mondo outdoor track was submitted. Both applications were successful and both projects are almost complete at a cost of almost €1.2 million. This voluntary work has earned Jim Ryan the National Sports Volunteer of the Year 2012.

Ryan is a level three coach and has been coach to a number of national teams at various British, European, and World championships as well as Celtic Games events. He has coached athletes and teams successfully at hurdles; high jump; long jump; shot putt; middle distance; relays; and cross country. He also coached athletes from all the other Mayo clubs as well as athletes from Galway; Roscommon; Sligo; Limerick; and Kilkenny. He now specialise in hurdles and jumps. At present he is a member of the Board of Athletics Ireland and chairperson of the juvenile committee which involves a lot of travelling to competitions and meetings.


Page generated in 0.1096 seconds.