Early year competitions swing into action


Last weekends stableford competition was won by Brian Fallon on 33pts, Pat Kilgallon came home in second place, with Chris Mannion finishing in third place. The ladies competition was won by Carmel Henry on 32pts, Breege Jennings finished in second place and Nora Heraty was in third place. After four rounds in the Winter League, the duo of John O’Connor and Nora Gibbons are in the lead on 130pts. Jimmy Sheridan and Breege Moran are in second place, with Chris Mannion and Tim Evans currently in third.


In Ballina last weekend, Robert Bradwell was the winner of the category one competition, Phonise McLoughlin was the winner of the category two competition. The officers and committee of the club which was elected at the recent AGM is as follows: president: Des Farrell, vice president: Eamonn Brogan, captain: Joe Murphy, vice captain: Gerry Mulligan, past captain: Paddy O'Donnell, hon secretary: Sean Rowley, hon treasurer: Kenny Casey, assistant treasurer: Michael O'Malley. Committee: Vincent Tomas, Phonsie McLoughlin, John Horgan, Padraic Moran, Des Sweeney, John McManus, Keith Cronin, Charles Doherty and Bill Kiely.


The first competition of 2013 at Castlebar Golf Club was a 15 hole stableford for men and was played over the weekend of January 5 through, January 6. The winner, with a great score of 36 points was the in-form Charlie Muldoon. Tony Mannion scored 34 points to take second place while Martin Moylan took third place, also with 34 points.

There is another club competition over this coming weekend and Round 4 of the 2012-2013 Winter League, which was to have been played on November 24 and 25, has been rescheduled for the weekend of January 19 and 20 with round six to be played the following weekend. The 2013 Ladies’ Spring League has commenced with round one being played over this week through to this Sunday, January 13.

The ladies’ competition played over last weekend was won by Sheila Baynes with 27pts. Margaret Tighe took second place with her score of 26pts, while Mary McKeon was third with 25pts and Mary Lawlor was fourth, also with 25pts.


In the first weekend competition of the new year the winner was Peter Hynes with a score of 34pts, the previous weekend’s competition over the Christmas period was won by Frank Mullen on 37pts. Eamon Doherty came second, with Yvonne Oldham winning the ladies’ nine hole competition.


The weather played havoc with Mulranny’s first open weekend, causing the cancellation of the competition. However, those who got to play on Friday may have a free round this weekend when hopefully conditions will be more conducive to playing golf. The competition is an 18 holes stableford, open to ladies and gents. You may play on Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays, throughout January and February. The Mulranny club committee for 2013 is as follows: captain: Mick O’Donnell president: Freddie Devanney; vice captain: Michael Cafferty; secretary/PRO: Patsy Noone; treasurer: Gabriel Dockery; handicap secretary: Fergus Rothwell; competitions secretary: John Joyce; committee: Angela Moran (Lady Captain ), Paul Gavin, Mary Joyce, John Joe Mulchrone, Andy Davitt, Rod Wood, Niall Mooney, Breda Gilvarry, Martin McLaughlin (ex officio ), Margie Coghlan (ex officio ).


With the new golfing season only a matter of days old, the members at Westport Golf Club will be concentrating on matters off the course over the coming days. Having secured the much coveted Failte Ireland Golf Accreditation award for 2013, which positions the club to the forefront of all Failte Ireland golf marketing campaigns throughout the year, another national award is on the horizon. All roads lead to Dublin on January 15 for the annual Golfers’ Guide to Ireland Awards. Westport achieved the Connacht Premier Parkland Destination award in 2012 and is nominated once again in the leading parkland category for 2013.


Page generated in 0.1189 seconds.