Decision time in Winter Leagues across Mayo


In the Tom O’Connor sponsored Winter League the round four winners were the team of Martin Ryan, John T Doherty, Pascal Tuohy, and Kevin Rowland who scored 46 nett. The final of the Winter League and the Winter League Plate will take place this Sunday, November 25, and the presentation of the prizes will take place afterwards. In the ladies’ nine hole stableford competition, Pauline Gilger-Tuohy was the winner on 21pts, and Siobhan Leonard finishing in second place on 18pts, with Shanua Smith in third place. The 15 hole competition was claimed by Helen Gallagher on 18pts with Marie Forde finishing in second place.


The Winter League stableford competition was won by Fredrick Herr on 43pts, with Kevin Keenan in second place on 41pts and Ivan Freeley taking third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Margaret Dyer on 37pts with Marian Coyne finishing in second place. The junior section was won by Andrew Hickey on 40pts.


The 15 hole stableford competition last weekend was won by Ian Smyth on a score of 36pts, Frank Murray came second on 35pts with Pat Waldron finishing in third place. The annual dinner dance will take place on Friday, November 30, in the club house and tickets cost €25. The club’s annual Mass will take place this evening November 23 at 8pm. The ladies’ stableford competition last weekend was won by Frances O’Dowd on 28pts, Veina Brett finished in second place with Cathy Craughwell in third place.


In round six of the CBE sponsored Winter League, Philip White was the winner on 32pts, with Michael Conway finishing in second place and Brendan Walsh finishing in third place, with Ann Moran winning the ladies’ competition.


Colam O’Neill scored a remarkable 40pts to win first prize in the Hynes Shoe’s sponsored competition last weekend. Colin Cooney finished in second place on 36pts with Paddy Chambers finishing in third spot.

In the Winter League Michael Cafferty’s team are eight points clear at the top after four rounds. There is a three-way tie for second place with Liam Walshe, Dwyane Flynn, and Patsy Noone’s teams all tied there currently. This weekend is the last round of the league and the bonus points handed out to the top six finishers could be invaluable for the play off draw for sides. The AGM of the club takes place on Tuesday, December 11. Motions must be submitted, in writing to the secretary, by Tuesday, November 27.


Page generated in 0.0924 seconds.