Hickey claims the big prize in Ballyhaunis


The club classic competition last weekend saw the foursome of Joe Corcoran, Stephen Casey, David Finnerty and Ollie Bolton take first place on 103pts. Second place went to the team lead by Padraig Prendergast on 102pts, with Michael McNamara’s side finishing in third place. The nearest the pin challenge on the 18th hole was won by Robbie McGinty. In the stroke competition, Glen Forde was the winner on 64 nett, with John Fitzpatrick second and Stephen Doherty third. The trio of Liam Casey, Kenny Casey and Mickey Tighe won the nine-hole scramble.


The ladies’ competition sponsored by the Moran family was won by Carmel Sweeney on a score of 37pts. Helen Ryan finished in second with Joanne Comer third. Pat McDermott won the gross, with C O’Toole taking the first nine win and Frances Burke the second nine prize. The gents’ competition sponsored by Paul Hynes, was won by Cillian Burke, Mike Lee came second and Peter Twibill finished third. Michael C Burke won the gross, with category prizes going to both Martin Boyle and Matthew Burke. Ladies’ open day will take place on August 29 and a time sheet is open for booking on 094 9541118.


Paul Hickey was the winner of the captain’s prize with a score of 131 last weekend. Anthony McNicholas finished second with Tom McGuire third and Shane Freeman winning the gross. Kevin Henry, David Murphy and Martin McDermott were the category winners with Ivan Freeley winning the past captain’s prize. The ladies’ competition went to Kung Fanning with Conor Lyons the junior winner.


Brendan Walsh was the gents’ competition winner last weekend on 39pts, with Keith McCormack finishing in second, a point behind. Catherine McEveney won the ladies’ competition with Mary Walsh second.


President Neil O’Donnell will host his president’s day at Mulranny on Sunday. A large entry is expected to pay tribute to a very popular and long time member of Mulranny. This will be his second year as president. This is the penultimate round of the golfer of the year, with Noel O’Malley holding a four points advantage over Andy Davitt. Last weekend’s comeptition was won by Jim Ruane with John Moran second and Richard Keane third.


The County Mayo Gents Golf Seniors (over 55 years of age ) Tournament is taking place at Westport Golf Club on Thursday, August 23. This event, which was deferred due to weather conditions, is proving a very popular competition for all senior gents who are based in the region. The day is over 18 holes stableford with prizes for nett, gross and age categories. The holder of the trophy is Joseph McGowan (Castlebar. ) A time sheet is in operation at Westport Golf Club (8.30am to 2.30pm. ) Phone; 098 28262 or email [email protected]


Page generated in 0.1040 seconds.