Tee times for insomniacs this Saturday morning in Westport


Breege Moran was the winner of the lady captain’s prize in Balla last weekend with a score of 111 in total. She was followed home in second place by Mary B O’Donnell who finished on a total of 112, with Geraldine O’Malley third on 132. The gross prize was won by Maria Flanagan who scored 132 over the competition. Mary Conlon was fourth, with Carmel Henry fifth, Imelda Flatley sixth, and Breege Jennings seventh. The first 18 prize went to Geraldine Evans with 56 and Helen Carey won the second 18 prize also with 56. The men’s competition was won by Dermot MacMahon with a score of 54pts, Padraic Cuffe took second place, with Joe Healy taking third, Frank Larkin fourth, and Mike Neary fifth. The gross went to John Parsons.

The current golfer of the year standings has B Cleary in first place in the ladies’ section and Stephen Walsh is leading the gents so far.


In last Sunday’s ladies’ 18 hole stableford event, Helena Syron finished in first place with a score of 37pts, Elaine O’Hora came second on 36pts, with Frances Burke third on 36pts. In the Thursday competition, Shauna Smith was the winner with 42pts and Catherine Egan came second with a score of 36pts.


Beatrice Schalks was the winner of the ladies’ stableford competition last weekend with a score of 39pts. Breege Costello came home in second place only two points further back with Carmel Maloney finishing in third place on 36pts. In the gents’ open competition last Friday, Peter Geraghty was the winner on 42pts with Michael C Burke finishing in second place on 38pts.


In the Western Brand Chicken, stableford competition Roisin Hill won the ladies’ competition with a score of 37pts, she finished two points in front of Norrie Dillon in second place. The gents’ prize was taken home by Tom Moran on a score of 39pts, one in front of second placed Sean Sloan, and Andrew Hickey was the junior winner.


It was standing room only in Castlebar Golf Club last Saturday evening for the crowning of the very popular 2012 lady captain's prize winner Ger Lyons. After two weekends of keen golf, Ger Lyons, Ann O Sullivan and Patti Merrick finished on level scores which set up an exciting three-way playoff followed over holes 1, 2 and 18 with Ger Lyons claiming the title. The day one prize went to Connie White with Kate Killalea taking the day two prize. The first year beginner scramble winners were Mary Mc Cusker, Deirdre Lynn and Pauline Moran. Margaret Naughton won the Second Year Beginners competition. The men’s weekend 18-hole stableford competition was won by Albert Dravins with 39pts. Colin Dawson was second with 37pts from David Carney in third place on a count-back. The Pierce Purcell team were defeated 3.5 to 1.5 by a strong Claremorris team last Saturday in the zone semi- final. The Cecil Ewing team play Westport tomorrow Saturday, July 14. Castlebar Golf Club hosts its annual open week from Monday July 16 to Sunday July 22 and there will be a range of competitions over the days during the week.


Pat Garvey was the winner of the Glynn Homevalue sponsored competition last weekend. He finished on 42pts, two points in front of second placed Peter Geraghty with Michael Rhatigan finishing in third place. The ladies’ competition was won by Mary Walshe, with Catherine McEvaney winning the nine hole competition.


Last weekend’s Padraic McHale-sponsored competition was won by Jack O’Hara with a score of 38pts, John Joyce came home in second place, with Peter Hopkins finishing in third place. This weekend’s golfer of the year competition is sponsored by Rocky’s Bar, Castlebar. Fergus Rothwell is the current leader of the competition with Noel O’Malley in second place and Ger Staunton third. It will be lady captain’s day tomorrow in the club and best wishes are extended to lady captain Margie Cochlan for the event.


The annual Insomniacs Golf Event takes place at Westport Golf Club tomorrow, Saturday July 14, at 4am. The competition is in its 17th year is a great favourite with the members and normally attracts a number of non-members. Traditionally the purpose of the event was just to have a bit of fun and this theme continues in 2012, with an entry fee of €10 including a full Irish after the round. There is a timesheet in operation and golfers are requested to register their entry by contacting the club on 098 28262.


Page generated in 0.0948 seconds.