New year events swing into action around the clubs


Over the Christmas and New Year period, the club scramble competition was won by the trio of Breege Jennings, Geraldine Evans and Tim Evans. Second place went to the team of Pat Kilgallon, Ciaran Canny and Sean Canny, with third place going to Dermot MacMahon, Pat Mohan and Martin Moylette. Last weekend’s stableford competition was won by PJ Brett with a score of 37. Brett’s play on the back nine kept Martin Moylette back in second place after he also finished on a score of 37, with Aodan McSuibhnie coming home in third place.

The ladies competition was won by Breege Walsh with a score of 39, she finished just in front of Breege Moran in second place with Aine McSuibhnie finishing in third place.


Last weekend saw the action get back under way in the club after the holiday break, Paddy O’Donnell finished up the winner of the 12-hole stableford competition on 34pts. Walter Gavin finished in second place, with Paul Harney taking third prize on 31pts and 29 pts respectively. A time sheet is currently on the notice board for this Sunday’s competition and anyone wishing to take part is asked to put their names down on it.


Shane Freeman was the winner of the handicap competition last weekend in Ballyhaunis, Jarlath Henry took second place well behind the winner with Fred Herr back in third. The ladies’ competition was won by Marian Coyne, with Phil Glynn in second place. The junior competition was won by Andrew Hickey.


A 13-hole stableford competition was the big event last weekend in Castlebar. Ian Smith walked away with the win on 33 points, Peter Horkan came home in second place two points behind, with John Mitchell coming third. The ladies’ competition was claimed by Nicola Sheridan on 26 points, with Eileen O’Boyle two points behind in second place and Breda Gilvarry back in third.

The Cox’s ladies’ Spring League also swung back into action at the turn of the year. Carmel Moran’s team were the winners in week one with a score of 67 points, the second best scoring team was Evelyn Brady’s squad on 66 points with three other teams finishing one point further behind.


Last week’s competition was won by Pat Burke who scored 35pts on his round, he finished two points in front of Eamon Doherty in second place with Patricia Prendergast winning the ladies’ section with a score of 25pts.


Maeve O’Farrell was the winner of the ladies’ nine-hole competition last weekend with a score of 21pts. The gents’ front nine competition was claimed by Peter Moran with a score of 48pts; his back six scoring was needed to hold off Michael Fahy who also finished on 48pts. The back nine competition was won by Tim Coffey on 45pts, with Michael O’Donnell coming second on 43pts.

The Westport Senior Gents’ competitions start on the January 26, under a new format, the main changes being that there will be a choice of entering the normal competition or a nine-hole competition.

Westport Golf Club will be hosting the Connacht Golf Industry Conference in the Knockranny House Hotel, Westport at the end of the month. This high profile conference will take place on Sunday January 29.


Page generated in 0.0981 seconds.