Back nine scoring decides a number of club competitions


Last weekend’s Stableford competition sponsored by Tolsters Bar, Castlebar, was won by John Walsh with a score of 40pts. His scoring on the back nine was enough to keep him in first place ahead of Paraic Cuffe who also finished on 40pts. Pat Kilgallon took third place, with Breege Moran winning the ladies’ competition on 37pts, Geraldine Evans came second and Carmel Henry third. The junior competition was won by Liam Timmiss with a score of 34pts, while Sean Canny scored a hole in one on the 15th hole during his round.

Presentation of the prizes will take place in Tolsters Bar, Castlebar, this evening at 10pm.


Padraic Naughton with a score of 42pts was the winner of the Stableford competition in Ballina last Sunday. Liam Casey pushed him all the way, also scoring 42pts, but Naughton’s back nine play ensured Casey finished second. David Finnerty came home in third with a score of 38pts. Today, Friday September 9, Ballina Golf Club will host a fundraising classic. Entry to the competition is €100 per team and a team can be made up of any combination of players. A time sheet will be in operation for the event which is also open to visitors.


It was Lady Captain’s Prize Day in Ballinrobe last weekend and Marian Scully was the winner of Phyllis Lee’s competition. Carmel Sweeney came home in second place, with Breege Costello third and Maura Joyce winning the gross event. The junior girls’ prize was claimed by Sara Quinn with Maggie Burke second and Isabelle Cummins third.


The Kirby Cup competition in Ballyhaunis last weekend was won by Dermot Finnegan with a score of 65, he finished two ahead of David Murphy in second, with PJ Moran third. The ladies’ event was won by Jenny Glynn on 33 with Marge Hierons finishing second, and Evan Henry won the junior competition.


Winner of Flavia Cafolla's Lady Presidents Prize was Bernie Burke with a great score of 69 in the competition played on Sunday in extremely wet conditions. Lorna Irwin came second, with the gross prize going to Connie White, and Carmel Connaughton taking third place. The men’s competition was claimed by Michael Waldron with Pat Carroll second, Shane Rice third, and the junior prize going to Kevin Barry.


Vincent Daly was the winner of the JJ Griffith’s sponsored day, with Shane McGrath the Cat 1 winner, Frank Mullen the Cat 2 winner and Pat Burke taking the Cat 3 prize. The ladies’ competition was won by Rita Keane with Emma Prenty finishing in second place.


Next Sunday sees the penultimate Golfer of the Year competitions in both the ladies’ and gents’ clubs. Although both clubs will use the FedEx Cup Top 30 final format, on Sunday September 18, in calculating their respective champion golfers of the year, there are a number of differences in the respective points systems to be used.

To summarise, the ladies who qualify for their Top 30 final will have the points that they have accumulated to date reset prior to their finals competition. The points that they will play for ensure that if any of the top five qualifiers has the best score on the day, she will be crowned Westport Champion Lady Golfer 2011.

In a change from last year’s format, the qualifiers for the gents’ competition will carry their points forward and play for triple the normal points available in Golfer of the Year competitions. The Top 30 timesheet for the men’s competition will be finalised on Sunday night next, with competitors playing in the order they qualified, with the top three qualifiers going out in the last group at 9.32am.


Page generated in 0.1037 seconds.