Mayo squad announced for Oscar Traynor Trophy

Mayo Oscar Traynor team manager, Declan Kilkelly, announced his squad of players for the forthcoming group one games in the National Oscar Traynor Trophy competition. The panel includes four new players (Emmet Peyton, James Jennings, Paul Walsh and David Reilly ) receiving their first call up along with another three players who have been added to last year’s squad (Ronan O’Boyle, Andy Neary and Gerry McLoughlin ). Mayo will be competing in group one with the Inishowen League (away ) and the Galway League (home ).

Kilkelly stated, “I am very happy with the squad which we have selected, and absolutely delighted with the positive response and attitude of the players. I have watched several games over the course of the season along with my management team, and this squad I believe represents the best talent available in the county. All players recommended by their clubs were seen either by my management team or myself. We have gone this season for a good mixture of experience and strength along with the players that have been performing well on the field of play. Having spoken to all of the players over the past couple of days, I am fully convinced of their commitment to the squad and the team, and they are fully prepared to put in the work and effort in preparation for the games ahead.

“We were somewhat unfortunate last season not to get out of the group stage due to an injury time equaliser in Inishowen, but with the support of the players and the Mayo League, there is no reason why a Mayo team cannot add a national title at this level. It is unfortunate that we will not be able to call on the services of the experienced Stevie Gavin for the Inishowen game due to a prior commitment, but I have every confidence in the panel of players that we are capable of achieving a good result in Donegal. I have asked all the players to be in attendance in Milebush Park for 7pm for training sessions on Tuesday, Thursday November 11 amd 13. We expect to travel up to Inishowen on the Saturday 15 November by bus at 2.30pm, as the game is due to be played on Sunday at 1.30pm in Moville or Redcastle. I will announce the team captain at a future date.”

Mayo squad: Ballina Town: Emmet Peyton, Tom O’Connor, Eugene Gorman, Mick Duffy. Castlebar Celtic: Stephen Ryan, Ger O’Boyle, Ronan O’Boyle, Andy Neary, Sean McHale.Westport Utd: Joe Lawless, Danny Scahill, Dessie O’Malley, Martin Geraghty, Gerry McLoughlin. Snugboro Utd: Stevie Gavin, Paul Walsh. Straide and Foxford Utd: Alan McDonnell. Iorras Aontaithe: David Reilly, Brendan Nallen. Manulla James Jennings. Fixtures: Inishowen League v Mayo League - Sunday November 16, Mayo League v Galway League – Sunday December 7


Page generated in 0.0955 seconds.