Kilmovee 10k kicks off new road race league season


Kilmovee is the place to be this next Saturday, April 23 for the first race in 2011 Mayo AC C and C Cellular Road League. This is the 13th year of the successful series, which covers various distances and venues around the county. The League will have a more compact structure this year, comprising eight races, and finishes with the Ballina 10k in September. Martin Conroy (Sligo AC ) was the winner over this reputedly fast course last year in 32.41, closely followed by John Byrne. The women's winner was Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC ) in 41,27. Angela won the over 45 category in the recent National 10k championships. The race starts at 1pm sharp. Registration is at GAA grounds in Kilmovee. Entry fee is €20 on-line at or €25 on the day. Showers and refreshments available in Kilmovee community centre.

Final results finally in from National 10k championships

Following a tough race in hot and humid conditions at the Phoenix Park, AAI finally confirmed the results of the National 10k championships on Thursday evening last. For Mayo AC women it was well worth the wait. They won silver team medals in senior, o40 and o50 categories. It has been some time since any club in the country matched that feat, certainly not this year when they were the only club to achieve this unique and well deserved distinction. Across the board the performance of the Mayo AC women emphasised the current strength of the club, and maintained the club's great tradition of success at national level.

In addition, Angela O'Connor won gold individual in the over 45 category and Colette Tuohy silver in the over 40. These were superb performances. Angela has battled injury in the past few years but has shown great resilience, Colette has only returned to athletics in the past couple of years and her success in a very competitive section is due to hard work and talent. The senior team were brilliantly led by Catherine Conway (8th ) closely followed by Mary Gleeson (11th ) and Colette Tuohy (20th ) and were well backed up a fast improving Sarah Syron and Paula Prendergast. Angela O'Connor spearheaded the ver o40s team. There was a gutsy performance by Chris Gallagher, backed up by the experienced Ann Murray who was fourth individual in the over 45 category. Ten teams competed in the over 40 section. Mary Naylor who finished fourth individual o50, has won many a medal in her long career, and now in her new category led home Una McGrath and Mary Murphy to their first national medals.

There were 461 athletes in the men's race and intense competition among the 28 participating Senior men's clubs. Mayo AC's 11th place was a credit to the team led by TJ McHugh (finished 29th overall ). Timmy Glavey, Antony Devaney Kevin Mellett who finished in a combined time 2:21:02

London Marathon

Gerry Galvin from Westport finished in an excellent time 3:07:24 and was satisfied with his run despite problems with heat and stomach cramps during the race. Paddy O'Toole reached halfway in 1:19:48, and finished in 2:48:07, Paddy was disappointed with his performance as he has run faster times, but he too was affected by the heat and could not sustain his first half pace.


Page generated in 0.0800 seconds.