McGrath to run the line in FAI Cup final

Mayo League referee Damien McGrath’s upwards trajectory in the game will continue at pace on Sunday. The north Mayo whistle blower will be first assistant referee in Sunday’s Ford FAI Cup final between League of Ireland champions Shamrock Rovers and Sligo Rovers in the Aviva Stadium in Dublin. McGrath’s stock in the game has been rising over the past number of years and he was rewarded earlier in the autumn when he was appointed as first assistant referee in a UEFA Champions League group game. On Sunday he will once again be first assistant referee with Thomas Connolly the man in the middle.

Fourth round draw for FAI Junior Cup made

The draw has been made for the fourth round of the FAI Junior Cup (the last round confined to the Mayo League before the open national draw ). The final four games which are down for decision on the weekend of November 27 and 28 sees Ballyhaunis Town host Kiltimagh/Knock United, Ballyheane will travel to local rivals Castlebar Celtic, Manulla and Westport United will clash in an all Super League affair. The final game will see Ballina Town travel to either Claremorris or Iorras Aontaithe. Those two sides will meet on Sunday at 2pm in Concannon Park as their game was postponed last weekend.

In the third round Westport United saw off Bangor Hibs 4-1, while Ballyheane beat Conn Rangers comfortably 6-2. Super League champions Ballina Town were made work by Urlar United winning by the only goal in the contest. Manulla saw off Kilmore 3-0 in Carramore, while Ballyhaunis Town were 4-2 winners against Moy Villa. Castlebar Celtic beat Achill Rovers 2-0 down in Achill while Kiltimagh/Knock United were 1-0 winners over Ballina United. A minute’s silence was held before all games in memory of Achill Rovers player Daniel Sweeney who died tragically in England the previous week.

Mayo youths get off to good start

The Mayo League youths team got off to a great start in the Inter League competition, the Mayo League side saw off the challenge of the Inishowen League by a score of 3-1 in Milebush. Jamie Fallon scored the first and last goals for Mayo, with Fergal Durkan bagging the second as the Mayo League selection ground out a deserved victory.

Changes at the top for Celtic

Following a recent extraordinary general meeting Castlebar Celtic have made a number of changes at the top of their executive. James Murray will take over as chairman of the club which is competing at both national and local level, while Pat Naughton will take over the secretary post with Pat Gavin staying on as treasurer.


Page generated in 0.1639 seconds.