Mayo athletes perform well at Phoenix Park 10 mile

Mayo AC members recorded some great performances at the annual Frank Duffy 10-míle road race in the Phoenix Park recently which attracted more than 6,000 competitors. John Byrne finished ninth overall in a time of 53.44, while Paddy O’Toole finished in 59.46 and Kevin Mellett, who has recovered from recent injury, came home in 62.27. Catherine Conway ran an excellent race finishing fourth in the senior woman in 62.10, while Paula Prendergast clocked 70.02. Caroline Conway ran strongly to cross the finish line in 75.13.

Tuohy continues to impress

Colette Tuohy has been one of the finds of the road racing scene. She was an outstanding underage athlete at the end of the 80s and this year has made a successful return to competitive running. She was a convincing winner of the recent Claregalway 10k road race held over a testing two-lap course, which included a series of testing hills, and came home in a time of 39.07 with 37 seconds to spare over Veronica Colleran of Ennis. Other Mayo AC members who performed well in this race included Owen Mongan in a time of 43.49, Christy O’Malley (43.55 ), Anne Fahey Ronayne (47.39 ), Christy O’ Connell (48.30 ), Margaret Roddy (50.55 ), Dave Huane (53.00 ) and Mary Moylett (56.36 ).

National half marathon

This Sunday the AAI National Half Marathon takes place in Carlow, Mayo AC members will be heading to this confident of building on the club’s success achieved in this event in recent years.

Derval Devaney wins Gaelforce

First woman home in Gaelforce West Adventure race for 2010 was Mayo AC’s Derval Devanney. Devanney who is an accomplished triathlon athlete romped home in a magnificent time of 4:15:52. This was a wonderful achievement on a course that was considerably longer than last year. Other Mayo AC athletes competing in the first wave were Anto Devaney who finished in 4:45:35, PJ Hall finished in 4:54:02, Kathy Connolly finished in 5:20:50 and Anne Fahey Ronayne finishing in 5:28:45. Other Mayo AC athletes competing in Gaelforce West this year were Damien Glackin, Maggie Heneghan, who finished in brilliant times of 5:43:51 and 5:43:57 respectively.


Page generated in 0.0879 seconds.