Golf President’s Day around the county


The President’s Day prize took place last weekend, and Billy Gallagher won the men’s section with a score of 51. Aodan MacSuibhne was second with 52 (back 9 ) and Dermot MacMahon won the gross with 60. In third was Bob Leggett with 52; Jim Conlon (the Presidents other half ) came in fourth with 54.

In the ladies’ section, Lady Captain Pat Dillon came home in first with a score of 52 on the back nine. Helen Byrne had the same score came in second place and the gross winner was Breege Jennings with 66. Breege Moran was third with 54 and Margaret Walsh was fourth with 55.

Bridget McNamee won the beginners’ section, with Louise McMahon second.

Mick Murray won the men’s visitors section whilst Catherine Loftus won the ladies’ visitors prize. The junior winners came from the Holian Family, with Conor beating his sister Audrey. Conor score was 60 and Audrey came in with 70.


In last weekend’s hookers and slicers competition, PJ Corrigan was the winner with a score of 31.5 nett, second place went to Phonsie McLouglin who finished a point further behind, with Brian Horkan in third place with a score of 29. In the Vice-President’s Day competition, Thomas Forde was the winner with a score of 66 nett, John Carden came second on 67 nett. Third place went to Joe Murphy who finished with 67 nett also, while the gross prize went to Noel Dee on 72 nett.


Last weekend there was a stroke competition sponsored by Hazelhill Timber, Ballyhaunis. The junior section was won by Cian Henry with a score of 63 off 22. The ladies’ section was won by Josie Folliard with a score of 66 off 36, Chris Keane was right behind in second place on 67 off 27. Third place went to Anne Freeley who scored 69 off 13 and Kung Fanning took the gross prize with a score of 80 off 10. The gents’ competition was won by Tommy Grogan who fished on 64 one ahead of second place Rory O’Connor. David Murphy took third place and Shane Buckley the gross prize.


Last weekend’s competition sponsored by the Western Hotel, was won by Owen Hannon with a score of 42pts, the Cat 1 section was won by Brian Farragher with a score of 41pts, with John F Corcoran going home with the Cat 2 prize thanks to a score of 39 and Mark Killeen took the Cat 3 win. The ladies’ competition was won by Kung Fanning who scored 36 pts, to just hold off Christina Rush and Kate Gallagher in second and third place.


The competition format for the forthcoming open June Bank Holiday was confirmed last week. There will be four daily single stableford competitions for ladies and gents. It was recently announced that Joe Kelly was the Irish Independent April Golfer of the Month. Well done Joe! The updated ladies’, gents’ and junior boys’ GOY tables are now available on the club website.

The May golfers of the month were: Senior gents: Tony Browne; Gents: Paddy Donohoe; Senior ladies: June Mathastein; Ladies: Nuala Moody, Juniors: Shane Golden.


Page generated in 0.0967 seconds.