Mayo AC announces teams for national 10k event


Mayo athletic club has announced its teams for the upcoming national 10k which is being held this year in conjunction with the Bupa Great Ireland Run 2010 this Sunday April 18 in the Phoenix Park, Dublin. The senior men’s team comprises Timmy Glavey and Andrew Lynskey. Mayo will be sending a six strong women’s team, with Breege Blehein McHale, Catherine Conway, Tracy Durkan, Mary Gleeson, Paula Prendergast, and Sarah Syron making it up. In the over 35 section, the men’s team will be led by John Byrne along with Gerry Galvin, David Huane, Robert Malseed, TJ McHugh, and Christy O’Malley. The women’s over 35 team comprises Cathy Connolly, Anne Fahey, Chris Gallagher, Ann Lennon, Ann Murray, and Angela O’Connor. Mayo AC will have a very strong representation in the over 50s men’s section with a seven strong team of veterans, made up of Mickey Ferry, Jim Gaughan, Tom Hunt, Owen Mongan, Patrick Moran, and Chris O’Connell.

Dunboyne four mile

Mayo AC’s John Byrne finished in an excellent 12th position in a time of 20.14 in the recent Dunboyne four mile in Meath. Sarah Syron Mayo AC also ran strongly in a time of 30.40.

National title for Emily Burns

Emily Burns, Ballina Athletic Club, captured the national title in the u17 long jump at the second weekend of the All Ireland indoor athletic championships in Nenagh last weekend. She adds this to the gold she won last year at the outdoor championships in Tullamore. David Healy was in great jumping form also when he won a silver medal in the u19 long jump. Simon Gillespie won the u15 walk but was unfortunately disqualified afterwards. The u13 boys relay team of Eric Connolly, James Doherty, John Timlin, Keith Harney, and Jack Regan put in a fine performance to finish in sixth place overall.

Tooreen 10k fun run and walk coming up

On Sunday April 25 the Tooreen 10k fun run and walk will go the starter’s pistol at 3pm. All the proceeds from this event will go to the Tooreen development fund. All levels of competitors are invited to attend and there will be refreshments served afterwards. The entry fee for runners is €12 and €6 for walkers. For more information contact Helen on 087 6716202.


Page generated in 0.1023 seconds.