Golf News


The 18 hole stroke competition last weekend saw Marina Coyne win the ladies’ section with a score of 67. She was followed home in second place by Joan McGuire who hit a 70. She was one ahead of Kay Fanning in third with a 71. The men’s competition was won by Edward Webb who scored 61. Second place went to Brian Philips with a 66 score, and David Burke finished in third with a 66 also.


The rumble competition sponsored by Gerry Butler Foods was won by the trio of Paraic Cuffe, Liam Ralph, and Margaret Ralph. Second place went to Marie Flanagan, Margaret Walsh, and Geraldine Kilgallon. Third place in the competition went to Mary Conlon, Jim Conlon, and Mary B Prendergast. This weekend’s competition is sponsored by Hurst Heating and Plumbing.

The scramble competition was won by Oliver Moran, Paraic Cuffe, and Tommy Padden. They finished just ahead of John O’Connor, Breege Heraty, and Jerry Henry. The team of Cora Waldron, Jimmy Sheridan, and Ray Mannion came third.


Ballina Golf Club took an important step towards winning its first Connaught Shield in 47 years by taking a 3-2 lead after the first leg played in Salthill at the weekend. The return leg will be played at Ballina Golf Club on Saturday next when a repeat performance on home soil would ensure victory. Ballina last won the prestigious trophy in both 1961 and 1962 when current club president Tony Walsh was a member of the team. Similar to the last year’s Junior Cup winning side, the Ballina team is a blend of youth and experience. Team manager Des Farrell has built a team that has already accounted for Ballyhaunis, Ballinrobe, Achill, and Curra West.

Connaught under 13 champion Jonathan Doherty, partnered by John Muldoon, set an early pace in their match against Aidan White and John Royliston. The Ballina pair were two up after nine, with Jonathan sinking a 30ft putt on the 10th for another win. The match finished on the 15th with the Ballina pair winning 4/3. Dermot Timlin and Michael Mc Hale held a one hole lead for most of their match against Shane O’Mahony and former Mayo footballer Mark Butler. They eventually ran out comfortable winners 3/2. Gerry Tuffy and Michael Tighe had a see-saw battle with Mark Grogan and Cyril Murray, finally winning on the 17th. The singles competition last weekend was won by PJ Corrigan with a score of 43, N Dee came second with 41, and J Doherty came third also on 41.


Last weekend’s men’s competition sponsored by Rafferty Centra was won by Billy Kearns with a score of 40pts. The Cat 1 section was claimed by Paul Biggins with a score of 39pts, with Philip White taking the Cat 2 competition on 37pts and the Cat 3 prize going to Seamus Mannion on 38pts.

The ladies’ competition was won by Nancy McHugh with 34pts (back 9 ). Claire Naughton took second place on 36 pts, with Catherine McEveney coming home in third place.


Last weekend’s senior gents’ competition was won by Pat Farren with a score of 33.5pts off 23. He finished just 1.5pts ahead of Joe Bourke in second place and Willie Maxwell who finished third. Michael Hughes won the Cat 1 competition with a score of 28.5pts. Tony Joyce took the Cat 2 honours with Jack Bredin top of the tree in Cat 3 and Cat 4 going to Hugh Murphy. The gents’ club competition was won by Jerry Hughes with a score of 43pts, Robbie Flynn came second with a score of 42pts, the same as third place finisher Blane Lynch. Fourth place went to Ritchie Horkan and fifth to Philip Cawley.

To celebrate the hosting of the 2009 Senior Gents Home Internationals, two competitions will take place over the weekend. The blue course that was used for the Home Internationals will remain open on Friday. The club will host an open competition with entry fee for visitors €25 and members €5. The Westport Golf Club Junior Cup will take place on Sunday October 4. The handicap range for competitors will be from five to 10. The field is limited to 60 competitors. Entry fee for visitors is €20 and members is €10. There will be a timesheet in operation for both competitions.

Congratulations to Ritchie Barry and Michael Groden and Mick McGovern who were victorious in the William J Walsh and Phillips Cup respectively.


Page generated in 0.1047 seconds.