Captains and presidents’ prizes continue around the county

Pictured at the John Cunningham memorial tournament in Balla were Back:  Jarlath Cunningham, Bob Leggett, Vinnie Gibbons, Jim Conlon, Claire Moran, Oliver Moran. Front: Catherine McNulty, Liam Timmiss, Mary Cunningham, Pat Mohan, Marie Cresham.

Pictured at the John Cunningham memorial tournament in Balla were Back: Jarlath Cunningham, Bob Leggett, Vinnie Gibbons, Jim Conlon, Claire Moran, Oliver Moran. Front: Catherine McNulty, Liam Timmiss, Mary Cunningham, Pat Mohan, Marie Cresham.

Balla Golf Club

Last weekend’s competition sponsored by Baxter was won by Michael Neary who shot a 37, with Pat Walsh coming home second only one behind on 36, the top three was completed with another fine round from Liam Ralph who hit a 35 to round off the placing. The ladies’ competition was won by Marie Flanagan who shot a 34 (back nine ) with Nora Heraty also hitting a 34 (back 3 ) in second place, and Breege Moran coming third with a 35 (back nine ). The category winner on the day was Imelda Flately with a 34.

The John Cunningham Memorial Scramble winners were the team of Pat Mohan, Bob Leggett and Treasa Heneghan, with the team of Jim Conlon, Catherine McNulty and John Cunnane coming second. Liam Timmiss, Vinnie Gibbons and Marie Cresham took the third place trophy, with the nearest the pin competition being won by Jim Conlon, Catherine McNulty and John Cunnane.

Ladies captain’s day will take place this weekend with men and juniors able to take part on Saturday up to 3pm, a junior scramble will take place at 11am. There will be a time sheet in operation in the clubhouse, the presentation will take place in the Rendezvous on Sunday night.

Balla Town Parks and Balla Golf Club are teaming up on Sunday July 26 to host an open day of golf at Balla Golf Course. The format is a Scotch fourball – teams of two - €20 per team. Quality prizes are on offer. A timesheet will be in operation in the clubhouse or you can ring Breege on 087 6292164 or Oliver on 086 1718919 to book your slot. Refreshments will be served in the clubhouse. A raffle will also take place. Presentation of prizes will take place in the Olde Woods on Sunday night.

Ballina Golf Club

The Lady President’s prize was won by M Doherty with a score of 39, R McGoldrick came second also with a score of 39 while the gross prize went to F Bourke with a 28. Third spot went to L Tracey with a 38, while M Walsh came fourth with a 37. The top five was rounded off by V Sweeney who shot a 36. The best nine holes was won by D Touhy for the front nine with 19 and E Smith on the back nine with 21.


Day two of Lady Captain Betty Gannon's prize was held on Sunday and once again the buzz and excitement filled the club house from early morning to early morning. Deirdre Moylett was as steady and focused as always and won her second Lady Captain's prize with nett 143 over the two days. Carmel Moran was right behind her with 144 nett and Teresa Kelly was third also on 144. Connie White scooped the gross prize with 169 gross. Mary O'Donoghue was fourth, Evelyn Brady fifth, Ita Gallagher sixth, Mary Rose McNulty seventh, Marian Martyn eighth, Veina Brett ninth and Bea Hope 10th. Past Captain's went to Patricia Walsh, Best first day went to Daryl Conroy and best second day went to Pauline O’Donoghue. Congratulations to all the winners and also to Lady Captain Betty Cannon on two great days’ golf and two fabulous nights’ craic agus ceoil. To the also rans and if only golfers, there is always next year. Best of luck to Daryl Conroywho is playing in the All Ireland Girls championship this week.

The men’s competition last week saw Richie Hickey win out with a score of 68, Jimmy Devaney came a close second also with a 68. The gross prize was won by Declan Loftus who hit a 72, with W Barrett coming home in third with a 69 just one ahead of Mick Byrne who scored a 70. The junior prize was won by Kevin Barry and Mark Durcan who scored a 66.


The Old Arch Bar and Bistro sponsored competition last weekend was won by Mickey Mullins with a score of 44pts, the Cat 1 prize went to John Dillion who scored 36 points, with Niall McCarthy taking the Cat 2 win on 40 points while Martin Naughton wrapped up the Cat 3 trophy with a score of 36 points. The ladies competition was won by Peggy Tawse who shot a score of 38 points, the same as second placed Rebecca Kean with Claire Naughton taking third spot with a score of 33 points.

Green and Red society

The next outing of the Green and Red Golfing Society will be held at Claremorris Golf club tomorrow July 18. This outing normally precedes the Connacht football final, which of course goes ahead on the following day in Pearse Stadium.

Gerry Connor, this year’s captain of the society, is inviting as many members and visitors as possible to turn up for what promises to be a great day’s golf. The banter afterwards in the clubhouse discussing the Connacht final should be just as enjoyable as the golf.

A meeting will be held afterwards to make plans for the forthcoming Joe Langan Memorial Trophy match between the Galway and Mayo teams of the sixties and seventies to be held at Castlebar Golf Club in September. The Galway players have kindly donated a trophy in memory of the late Joe Langan, which gives an indication of the esteem in which he was held in that county.


The captain’s prize was won by Eugene Cranley who shot a 93 and a third nett off 14, second place went to Matthew Golden who hit 93 and a third off 11, with Neil Chambers coming home in third with a 96, Redmond Lyons came fourth with Michael Fahy fifth, and the gross went to Aidan Moran. The Cat 1 was won by Tom Moylette with a 97 and two thirds, with Cat 2 going Charlie Golden who hit 100 and two thirds and the Cat 3 going to James Groden with a 97 nett. The past captains’ was won by Niall Halpin, with Jackie Dunn taking the seniors prize, Tony Bree front nine, and Alan Browne the back nine.


Page generated in 0.1041 seconds.