Road race league moves through the stages

There were over 100 participants in the inaugural Ballindine four mile race on Sunday in aid of Western Alzheimer’s. The race was the brainchild of local organiser and Mayo AC athlete Dave Huane - with a little help from his running friends on both sides of the border. The runners/walkers put down their estimated finishing time on the entry form and were not allowed carry any time recording device during the race. The closest time to that predicted would determine the winner. As it turned out, three athletes finished within three seconds of their predicted time and were declared joint winners. They were David Mullins (Tuam AC ), Angela O'Connor (Mayo AC ) and Paul Fallon (GCH ). They were followed by Michael McGrath (Mayo AC ) +five secs, Fergal Egan (GCH ) +10, Deirdre Ruddy (Mayo AC ) +11, John Stagg, Hollymount +11. The fastest finisher was John Byrne (Mayo AC ) in 21.17, with Ian Egan of GCH second in 23.27. Angela O'Connor was fastest woman in 26.50.

Well over €1,000 was raised on the day. Well done to Dave Huane for all his efforts in making the event a success. He ran the Headford 8k on Sat evening in 30.10. A record 196 runners and walkers took part in the Headford 8k in mixed weather conditions on Saturday evening. Galway City Harriers' Gerry Ryan won in 24.58 and clubmate Regina Casey was first woman finisher in 30.52. Mayo AC results included Dave Huane 30.13, Ann Lennon, 31.55, Ciaran Quinn, 32.22, PJ Hall 33.13, Ann Murray 34.37, Ann Fahey 37.02, Christy O'Malley 39.25, Chris O'Connell 40.02, Clare Walsh 45.33.The Balla 10k Race three in 2009 Mayo AC/Vodafone C&C Cellular Race League is on Saturday July 25 at 7pm.



Page generated in 0.0937 seconds.